We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly the Inn on my List!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Secaucus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not exactly the Inn on my List!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Royal Garden does not have the gardens you would expect! Cigarette and litter is strewn all over the premises! The building renovated has a hallway lock that was faulty and did not lock correctly. My air conditioner did not operate and a new one had to be installed while I was in the room! The cost of this quality was a bit expensive and could only be accepted because it was in the Downtown capital neighborhood! Yes,you are able to get a frig but expect to pay! Breakfast is 6:00am to 9:00am but cleanliness is needed and should be required! The Inn feeds alot of homeless and for the tourists that can be dishearttening! Only if you cannot find anything else should you consider a visit here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    56
    41
    58
See reviews for
34
52
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ephraim, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were apprehensive due to all the negative reviews, but decided to stay here due to location and our budget. It turned out well; the front desk staff were bright and cheerful and accommodating -as well as the maintenance guy who brought us towels and a fridge- and the pool was clean and the breakfast was pretty good (pretty much all carbs, but they have to meet a price point). We stayed in a 2nd floor room and it was fine despite the broken tiles in the bathroom. The down side was that we never got cold air from the AC. (could we trade the noisy AC for a cold AC?)
It was encouraging to see the rooms below us in the process of being renovated. I bet we'll come again.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a renovated room. If the room you do get is terrible, ask for a different room and kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After reading all of the "terrible reviews" after I had already booked a room, I was pretty nervous about staying here. It wasn't too bad, though. The room was clean, the beds were comfy and the pool is nice, deep and clean looking. There were some problems with some of the tile in the bathroom coming away from the wall and what looked like mold under the calking in the bathtub. One thing that was a bit hard to deal with, though, was that there was no climate control/personal air conditioner in the room. It was just a vent in the ceiling blowing out almost not warm air. After showers the room was pretty stuffy. The staff was really nice and accommodating. I have medication that needs to be refrigerated so they sent a mini fridge to our room. The breakfast was good, too. I liked that they had biscuits and gravy, but was sad that it was the only protein provided. Lots of carbs (I'm diabetic). It would have been nice to see some fresh fruit and maybe just some boiled eggs. Also, the floor around the breakfast bar was very sticky. Overall, however, it was a pleasant stay. As we were about to leave I asked my kids (all teens and tweens) if they would like to stay there again sometime and they all said, "Sure!"

Room Tip: You should probably bring a fan if you want to stay cool in the summer. I was wishing I had mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Linda Outside very ran down....hallways not swept....Roaches in room...bathroom..... on the walls and on floor some dead and some running when we turned on the lights....shower water was very hard to get, the water was to Hot then to cold.... T.v. sucked and no Wifi.... Do Not Stay here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Attached are some photos. The chair in the room was filthy and had a hole in it. The ceiling in the bathroom was ready to fall down. The carpet was worn, and carpet on the steps to the room had holes along the edges. The walk to the rooms hadn't been cleaned in at least months.

The breakfast room was dirty as well. The container for the oatmeal, unbelievable. Needless to say, we didn't have breakfast there, it may have been free, but....


It is my own fault, I should have read the reviews more carefully. This was absolutely awful.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room we got had a filthy bathtub:the tub was leaking and the mat and rim had mold. The bathroom door had holes on it. You can tell that no one cares about maintaining the room. Across from our room is a suppose-to-be ice and vending room. But because it is empty, it apparently becomes a shelter
for the homeless. This is absolutely the worst hotel I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is just about the worst place I've ever stayed. It's the type of place you want to take a shower *after* you check out.
The carpet is stained, the wallpaper peeling and/or torn, and the paint in the rooms hasn't been washed in eons and is chipped and peeling. Furniture is stained and lamps are broken. Plugs won't stay in the socket. There is a depression in the floor in front of the sink where the carpet is very wet. God only knows what is growing there.
The buildings are no better. Torn, worn-out carpet, peeling paint and the general (and very apparent) lack of maintenance pervades the place.
And the wifi didn't work.
You get the feeling that the staff tries (the room was clean given the condition of the place), but the ownership won't put the nickel into maintenance.
Too bad you can't give zero stars.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.