We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just aweful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Royal Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Mount Airy, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just aweful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days during a convention in early May 2013. The desk staff was nice enough but that is where any positive experiences ended. The parking lot was full of teens just hanging out, not that I could see anything bad going on, but not a good impression. The room was dirty. Stains on the walls and carpet were just gross. The television was useless. We received 19 channels, 8 of them were static or a still advertisement image. The remaining 11 were of no real use. A channel guide was not present in the room and calling the front desk to remedy the static channels was pointless, they did nothing. They did not even provide the basic traveller channels such as the Weather Channel. When we asked about it the desk told us we could watch the local news. Over the course of the 4 days we felt more like we were staying in a home for transients and drug users rather than an Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    66
    47
    75
See reviews for
43
58
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lawrence, ks
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon ck in there were 2 girls who offered any infomation or friendly greeting. Acted as if they hoped the day would soon be over. Parking was not ample enough. When we said no parking they said oh my. .try on other side of building. None there either. Finally found a spot..they did not tell us about the pool, hot tub or continetel breakfast..the room was large however furniture was fifties. Coffee maker was broken. Hallway was dirty & smelly. Great price though. Places to eat across the street & good breakfast next door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is disgusting. We arrived late one evening, got to our room exhausted after the drive, and it smelled like horrendous mold. The carpet was wet as if it had flooded. I couldnt really sleep as the smell kept me awake. We switched rooms in the morning and the next one was even dirtier. No mold smell in the second one, just cigarettes and booze. It was a non smoking room. If you have any dignity or care about how your clothes might smell the next day do not stay here. They also advertise a pool. Its surrounded by orange cones and caution tape. Creepy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First & last time I would stay there. First the room smelled like mildew. Then the heater hardly worked and when it did it was loud. And lastly BED BUGS! It was the worst room I've ever stayed in. I actually slept in the car.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would have welcomed the opportunity to change you to a better room. At this time of year when the daily temperature fluctuates between heat and cold it takes our system time to adjust to the variances. The system responds to the demands of the rooms. If a majority of the rooms are calling for AC, then the heating will be delayed(but still functional.). As many of our rooms are exterior entry, pests are always a concern in spring and summer. We work very hard to minimize any pest problems and have a national pest control company on property monthly. Bed bugs are a special concern for us. Our housekeepers and maintenance personnel are trained to spot these insects while performing their duties.If the presence of these pests is even suspected, we close the problem unit and surrounding rooms and bring in an exterminator to check and treat if necessary..We have not had a report of bed bugs in over a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is nothing special. But if all you need is a bed and a bathroom somewhere in DT Salt Lake City - than I would highly recommend it. It's in walking distance of most things downtown, nearby the Salt Palace, and overall - very worthwhile for a short stay. It is not full of luxury, but it is clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here twice, 3 nights each time with a visit with friends in between. We would not have returned for 2nd stay but when this was booked, no cancellation was possible. Rooms and corridors were smelly and musty, both rooms were meant to be non smoking but smelt of smoke, tried to change room for 2nd stay but the room offered was even worse. Some staff were helpful, others not, surprising for the US where generally customer service is very good. On our last morning, the breakfast had run out of milk and tinned fruit 40 mins before breakfast ended! Breakfast itself was adequate but not brilliant. Will not stay here again on next trip to area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.