We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This place is disgusting. We arrived late one evening, got to our room exhausted after the drive, and it smelled like horrendous mold. The carpet was wet as if it had flooded. I couldnt really sleep as the smell kept me awake. We switched rooms in the morning and the next one was even dirtier. No mold smell in the second one, just cigarettes and booze. It was a non smoking room. If you have any dignity or care about how your clothes might smell the next day do not stay here. They also advertise a pool. Its surrounded by orange cones and caution tape. Creepy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    51
    36
    54
See reviews for
31
49
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

First & last time I would stay there. First the room smelled like mildew. Then the heater hardly worked and when it did it was loud. And lastly BED BUGS! It was the worst room I've ever stayed in. I actually slept in the car.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal I, General Manager at Royal Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would have welcomed the opportunity to change you to a better room. At this time of year when the daily temperature fluctuates between heat and cold it takes our system time to adjust to the variances. The system responds to the demands of the rooms. If a majority of the rooms are calling for AC, then the heating will be delayed(but still functional.). As many of our rooms are exterior entry, pests are always a concern in spring and summer. We work very hard to minimize any pest problems and have a national pest control company on property monthly. Bed bugs are a special concern for us. Our housekeepers and maintenance personnel are trained to spot these insects while performing their duties.If the presence of these pests is even suspected, we close the problem unit and surrounding rooms and bring in an exterminator to check and treat if necessary..We have not had a report of bed bugs in over a year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is nothing special. But if all you need is a bed and a bathroom somewhere in DT Salt Lake City - than I would highly recommend it. It's in walking distance of most things downtown, nearby the Salt Palace, and overall - very worthwhile for a short stay. It is not full of luxury, but it is clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here twice, 3 nights each time with a visit with friends in between. We would not have returned for 2nd stay but when this was booked, no cancellation was possible. Rooms and corridors were smelly and musty, both rooms were meant to be non smoking but smelt of smoke, tried to change room for 2nd stay but the room offered was even worse. Some staff were helpful, others not, surprising for the US where generally customer service is very good. On our last morning, the breakfast had run out of milk and tinned fruit 40 mins before breakfast ended! Breakfast itself was adequate but not brilliant. Will not stay here again on next trip to area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Bad:Indefinite stains of the carpet, toilet paper rolls had not been refilled. The room was hot, and the air did not seem to work.
Good: The beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower, and my dogs were able to stay for an extra $20. Was conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was about 1 mile from downtown Salt Lake City and was reasonable enough. The staff were friendly and checkin was efficient, the rooms are spacious and were clean and tidy, a little tired and worn maybe, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, so no complaints from that perspective. The biggest complaint I have about this hotel is actually the other guests, some of whom bring their pets with them and allow them to bark at all hours of the night.

The walk to downtown was easy and flat, and on a nice day, a lovely walk. I didn't try the free breakfast, so I can't comment, however the free WiFi was much appreciated and very useful.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ask for a ground floor if the stairs will bother you or you have a lot of lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.