We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not the cleanest room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Garden Inn to your Saves list
Royal Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, not the cleanest room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Bad:Indefinite stains of the carpet, toilet paper rolls had not been refilled. The room was hot, and the air did not seem to work.
Good: The beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water for shower, and my dogs were able to stay for an extra $20. Was conveniently located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    61
    43
    58
See reviews for
36
53
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was about 1 mile from downtown Salt Lake City and was reasonable enough. The staff were friendly and checkin was efficient, the rooms are spacious and were clean and tidy, a little tired and worn maybe, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, so no complaints from that perspective. The biggest complaint I have about this hotel is actually the other guests, some of whom bring their pets with them and allow them to bark at all hours of the night.

The walk to downtown was easy and flat, and on a nice day, a lovely walk. I didn't try the free breakfast, so I can't comment, however the free WiFi was much appreciated and very useful.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so ask for a ground floor if the stairs will bother you or you have a lot of lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casper, wy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1/25/13 with my 60 year old in-laws, dogs, and baby. As my husband was climbing the very icy stairs the STAIR BROKE UNDERNEATH HIM and a concrete step came crashing down next to me as I carried our baby. Needless to say we were less than thrilled. My in laws room had hairs and other assorted grossness in the room- they did not think it had been cleaned beyond the sheets being changed (we hope). When my husband reported his accident the guy at the counter was not nice at all, and the next morning, although the ladies were nicer and comped our room, not once did anyone ask if we were ok. What if it had been my mother in law on that step? What if the STEP THAT FELL HAD HIT OUR BABY?? What if my husband hadn't caught himself and he became disabled? Although we filled out an incident report nobody has contacted us, (Hi! Managaer Mark Richmond! Awaiting your call!) still, to follow up or ask if we're ok. I couldn't be more disgusted, and I still shake to think of the harm that could have befallen our kid if I'd been any closer. Do not stay here. It is not worth your life. I know that sounds dramatic but other steps had already been replaced so it's obvious they know there are structural issues going on.

Room Tip: No fridge in rooms, noisy fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The room we had was a very nice size, had a separate sink outside of the bathroom/toilet (awesome!), comfortable bed, good heat, and good, free wifi. The only thing that could have made the room better would have been a mini fridge. There was a coffee maker though. Our price ($48) included a nice breakfast of juice, tea, coffee, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, biscuits and gravy, muffins and waffles (self-serve) which is served 6-9 every day. It is within walking distance of restaurants and shopping, and super close to Breweries (movie theater). We will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I attempted to stay here 1/22/13 while the Sundance Film Festival, an outdoor expo and some other event were going on. I found it through another app on my phone. Anyway, this place was absolutely disgusting! To give you an idea, there were strands of hair and crumbs of some kind between the sheets and on the floors, dried soda on the walls, what looked like dried blood on the corner of the desk and a piece of a condom wrapper on the floor!!! I refused to even sit on the comforter while trying to find a room elsewhere.. Do yourself a solid and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The location was good, it was maybe 2 blocks away from the amtrack station that can take you directly to the downtown area. The hotel was not that expensive and clean but the staff was not really that helpful and she was very busy when I checked in and she did ask me to pay tax on water I got from vending machine (a first ever for me)

Room Tip: first floor rooms are very quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Inn

Address: 154 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Salt Lake City
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.