We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Peery Hotel to your Saves list
Peery Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
New York, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

The historical Peery is not for everybody. If you prefer large chain hotels with standard rooms and ammenities, try elsewhere. The Peery is a boutique hotel, and although some of the rooms are small, they have great character. I'm not sure the exact age of the building, but it has been really well maintained and is by far the most unique hotel in downtown SLC. Staff is incredibly nice and very helpful. One drawback for me -- lousy buffet breakfast. Otherwise, I'd have rated it higher.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    104
    53
    34
    36
See reviews for
39
111
43
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, OK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a business trip in SLC. We stayed at the Peery for one night, and I am so glad to be back. The city itself is undoubtly gorgeous, but the hotel, which is quite misleading from its lobby has some of the smallest rooms I have ever seen. Our room was basically 10X10, (not exaggerating in any way)..the bathroom is directly infront of the bed and the sink does not even fit in the bathroom, so it is placed next to the bed. The rooms are fairly old and not up to par like other hotels rooms (i.e. Marriott..). It was very hard not to feel clausterphobic. If you must stay here, choose a room with a king bed, not a queen, unless youre traveling alone. The location is great, but there is a Marriott just around the corner that looked a lot nicer, (I find that Marriott's are pretty reliable hotels). I hope this helped.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2005

Hotel is good, but rooms are very small. I asked for a larger room and was given handicapped room, the only larger room in hotel, I was told.
Buffet breafast was reasonably priced and plentiful, but I would have preferred an a la carte menu. Rooms are very clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

The Peery Hotel is the find of the year as far as I'm concerned. It beats any of the other so-called first-class hotels I've stayed in. The service was uncompromisingly friendly and helpful. The accomodations were superb down to the last detail. The views from second or third floor rooms of the mountains and city were spectacular. This is an historic hotel in a location that can't be beat in Salt Lake City. It's walking distance to any number of great restaurants, as well as a wondeful restaurant called Christopher's just off the lobby. The lobby itself is somewhere you'll want to sit in and just relax. Other niceties: free high speed internet at the business center, Starbucks stations on each floor in the morning, classical music in the lobby. Reasonable self-serve parking just steps away from the front door -- or valet if you prefer. If you like old-style elegance this is the best buy around!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

The hotel is amazing. It is like entering a time machine (built in 1910 and still looks perfect). The entire staff were great. The room was beautiful and comfortable.

The cons were minor, but here they are: you could park cheaper across the street ($5/day vs. $9/day at the hotel). Standard single bed rooms are small.

Our experience was wonderful and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

We live North of Salt Lake City but we stay at the Peery Hotel when we have events downtown. I like the Peery, it reminds me of the boutique hotels in San Francisco. It's an older hotel but they keep everything in working order and very clean.

I've stayed there 4 times and we always have a different room. Some of the bathrooms are really tiny but the beds make up for it, very cozy.

For food, there are two restaurants right next door, one is the Macaroni Grill - both are very good. Squatters Brewery is right across the street and Takashi, the best place for Sushi is just a block away, plus there are more great restaurants next to it. So you'll never run out of places to eat.

For nightlife, the W Lounge for dancing, Vortex, Port O'Call, Moe's and a few others are all right there too.

For shopping, the malls are only about 3-4 blocks - plus it's located in the free fare zone so you can take trax or the bus for free if for some reason you don't feel like walking.

I've stayed at the Hilton, Monaco, Marriott and Sheraton - all of which are great (with a few service related exceptions) if you have $150+ a night. But we always go back to the Peery. We usually get rooms around $80 but sometimes they have summer specials for $40 - Can't beat that!

After reading some of the bad reviews, I can't help but laugh. (Keep reading the reviews a few down) You can't give a bad review if you don't explain why you didn't like it. Well I'm not an employee either, just a happy customer. There are a lot of people in this world who take the time to acknowledge good service, otherwise this whole web-site would be employee posts.

Stayed August 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

This hotel is quaint...and GREAT. The lobby is a miracle, in and of itself...
Then, you enter your room, and it's fabulous, too! A desk, a bed with a canopy, an upholstered chair and ottoman, a bench at the end of the bed, and even FREE water bottles (not something you find in ANY other hotel now days...).
Now, the bathroom, I must admit was, indeed, my FAVORITE part. The black and white checkerboard floor against the pedalstool sink and interesting architecture...made it a fabulous place to hang out in my terri cloth robe.
I live in SLC, but stayed here to indulge my obsession with hotels...
and it was fabulous...even more fabulous than more expensive hotels in downtown...
and I was hydrated for my stay with my free bottles o' water.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Address: 110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1910 & listed on the National Historic Register, The Peery Hotel is the top boutique hotel in Utah. The Peery is located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City and is within walking distance to shopping, theaters, nightlife and over 60 restaurants. The Peery offers Tempur-Pedic beds, complimentary continental breakfast and a state of the art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah
Peery Salt Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.