We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My return to the Peery...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peery Hotel to your Saves list
Peery Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My return to the Peery...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Peery Hotel many times. I typically stay during the Holidays if they have a good rate. They had remodeled this hotel several years back, and it was a very tasteful remodel, in the they kept the historic look and integrity of the building. They used period furniture throughout and restored the entrance tile. They use temperpedic beds and that is a nice touch. The rooms are small which is normal for a building built in 1910. The Hotel is in a great location, and you can walk to several pubs in the area. Squatters and Gracies pubs are right across the street. The light rail is one block away. The airport is fifteen minutes away. This Hotel is not fancy and does not have a ton of amenities but it is cozy. It is especially pretty at Christmas time, when the lobby is decorated. They offer complimentary coffee and an assortment of teas. Bathrooms were clean and the shower was nice with ample water pressure. The room was warm and I had access to the thermostat so I could set it to my liking.

My only complaint is that I wish that the Peery would take some time to go through the hotel and put in some TLC. 2I mean screw in the toilet paper rolls, and the shelves above the vanity. There were little things throughout that needed some attention. Further, the remodel happened years ago and the wear and tear on the carpet in the hallways is really showing. Time for a change in my opinion.
I stayed St. Patrick Day weekend and there were a few partiers in the house. A beautiful (probably historic) window was broken, people were very drunk and annoying. The Hotel staff finally got them out of the Hotel. The rest of the weekend was quiet and nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Wasatch Mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    46
    31
    28
See reviews for
37
99
37
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the way back from a ski trip. It's the perfect downtown location -- and, the rates were 1/2 of similar properties. Beautiful lobby, free coffee, self-parking for $10 in the lot and walking to lots of restaurants and downtown shopping.

The bed is firm and super comfortable -- the room was a bit dark but was large and the wifi was free. This a a low amenity, comfortable and super clean place. The walls are a bit thin so you can here people opening / closing doors in the hall so if you are a light sleeper this might be an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a South Facing room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay downtown. Bonus charm points because it is not a chain!! Each room is slightly different. Recommended for the excellent service, with considerate staff. Front room has coffee and tea service and is nice to meet others.

Valet service available.

Within walking distance to local theatre venues. Nearby restaurants include Squatters, the place all SLC locals know.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a perfect place to stay. My husband and I stayed in Salt Lake City and I chose the Peery because of its downtown location and history. The lobby was impressive opulence, beautifully maintained and the antiques were outstanding. All of the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. offering recommendations for places to see and restaurants to visit. Anything we requested they delivered on. You MUST stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeeryHotel, Manager at Peery Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

William Powers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is right downtown and the staff is so nice. Even though it was built in 1910 they have done a great job in remodeling. We stayed there last night because in Utah it is only about 10 degrees outside and our furnance decided to committ suicide, there was no way I was going freeze another night and since we both work downtown I wanted a downtown hotel to drive to work this morning, This is a very classy place as long as you remember just how old it is, We got a double room. The beds have wonderful canapies over them and those memory mattresses are really nice, But........... The heater in our room was not working (lol I know we went there to get warm) but they did bring up two large space heaters that did a very good job of warming the bed area. The bathroom did not get warm and it had no outlets in it, and it was so small that you had to sit across the toilet seat so your knees to not hit the ttub. And no room for the sink so it was out in the bedroom area. to be honest my husband and I had a great time because we could only laugh at the ironey of staying in a hotel to get warm and the hotel room heaters did not work either! LOL

Room Tip: umm do not chose room 246 as the heat does not work. I am not ever sure if this hotel is aircondtion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The lobby area was great, the rooms were quite large, and the staff were helpful. It was very quiet for being a holiday (between Christmas and New Years). The Temp. beds were very comfortable. Great restaurants nearby, and a short walk to the Temple and the City Creek Shopping Mall.
We had to ask for more toilet paper twice, since no extra rolls were in the bathroom. The coffee and apple cider were great, but we wished they were available at other times than just in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peery Hotel

Address: 110 W Broadway (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1910 & listed on the National Historic Register, The Peery Hotel is the top boutique hotel in Utah. The Peery is located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City and is within walking distance to shopping, theaters, nightlife and over 60 restaurants. The Peery offers Tempur-Pedic beds, complimentary continental breakfast and a state of the art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peery Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah
Peery Salt Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.