We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micro-Room for Micro-Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 North Tommy Tompson Road, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Orange Co., California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Micro-Room for Micro-Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently stayed one night in a single queen room at the Microtel Inn near SLC Airport. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful. There was ample free parking and the hotel was easily accessed. The rate was quite low which surprised me for a property owned by Wyndham.

However, when I got to the room I learned why the rate was so good. The rooms are tiny and plain. There is a micro-desk with chair, no closet (instead a wardrobe) and some sort of day bed built above the air conditioner (which halves the size of the window). The bathroom was also rudimentary. All white plastic, two bars of soap and one small shampoo. I found the bed to be rather uncomfortable and the air conditioner noisy. However, the facility was neat and clean.

The breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, some bagels, muffins, bread, and a single waffle maker with a wait to use it. Protein items consisted of hard boiled eggs. Oh, and there was cold cereal. The dining room is a collection of six or seven tables in the small hotel lobby. After preparing a waffle and looking for syrup, a fellow traveler located the syrup in an unmarked white plastic coffee carafe.

My advice is that if you are concerned about your budget and are not picky at all, you can save yourself $20-$30 by staying at the Microtel. However, if you want a comfortable spacious room and a full breakfast, there are a number of slightly nicer hotels in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay. I am happy to hear that you found our facility clean and tidy with a great front desk staff. I am glad you enjoyed the variety of our breakfast items in the morning. All Microtel's are built with a special design that maximize space and offer guests all the conveniences within the room with a budget in mind. Our Microtel is also built with the same prototype which is standard among all Microtel's across USA and Canada. If you are looking for bigger rooms, We do provide bigger rooms for our guests, which would be a room with 2 queen beds or a King Suite with a Sofa Bed and a working desk with a chair. Please give our bigger rooms a try next time you are in Salt Lake City. Thank you so much for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    119
    83
    35
    29
See reviews for
103
89
46
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was trying to get home from Denver to Orange County, California and the weather and Air Force I turned out to be against me. A landing in Salt Lake City brought me to the Microtel and an Oasis of calm amid high winds and rain. good nights sleep helped me face the next rescheduled flight in the morning. thank you so very much!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sue, Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation for our hotel. I am glad to hear that we provided you with an oasis of calm and relaxation after a long day of travelling. I will share your feedback with my staff, I know hearing your feedback with make their day! thank you so much for your staying with us and trusting us in providing you with a great service and good night's sleep. Please do come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed one night passing through Salt Lake City, just needed a place to sleep. Easy to find, small, neat and clean lobby, desk attendant was very friendly and professional. Tidy breakfast area. Our room was clean and beds and linens are incredibly comfortable. This makes up for the quirky kind of weird room. Big klunky old square white refrigerator that looks like a dishwasher. Smallish big klunky tv sitting below flat screen bracket....maybe upgrading soon? Built in window seat. One wall of dark mirror at the head of queen beds. Ugly neon tube lights above beds, partially concealed by some trim, but light switches are I reachable from the bed. A very interesting room. Bathroom is clean. All very basic but a good value for a really comfortable bed.
Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for giving us a feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be of great value with cleanliness and friendliness of my staff that met your high expectations! We strive hard to ensure all our guests have an amazing experience with us and we love nothing more than seeing our guests come back to stay with us again and be their #1 choice! We actually just received a new TV for your room today, unfortunately the flat screen that was in your room had some issues and had to be replaced. All our rooms do feature a 32 inch flat screen HDTVs. Please do come back and see us again next time you are in Salt Lake City, Utah. We would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Good Motel in the vicinity oft SLC Airport, downdown is only a few miles away. We had a very small room but sufficient for a City trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stephan, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found exceptional value for our hotel. We are just couple of miles from the Salt Lake City Airport which provides our guests great convenience and relaxation of being only few minutes away from airport. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Room was clean and provided the basic needs. HAVC functioned well and desk staff was friendly. I thought it strange that there was not a clock radio in the room and the iron/ironing board was a little challenging to use since the iron cord was attached to the ironing board. Maybe this was to prevent the disappearance of the iron like the clock radio. Worked for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelslc, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear John, Thank you for your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found great value in our hotel. It is strange that your room did not have a clock radio, all our rooms come with a clock radio. I will ensure we have a clock radio put in your room right away for our future guests. We hope you will come see us again next time you are in Salt Lake City and we hope to earn a 5 star experience next time! Thank you for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport

Address: 61 North Tommy Tompson Road, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Salt Lake City International Airport, Ski Resorts and Hill Air Force Base. Free Shuttle to and from the Airport.For comfortable rooms at an affordable price, book your stay at Microtel Salt Lake City Airport hotel near Utah’s Hogle Zoo. We offer free parking for your vehicle so you can easily enjoy all the area has to offer. Ask us about our Park N Fly options and save even more!!Greet the day with free continental breakfast before working out in our fitness center. Our pet-friendly Salt Lake City hotel offers suites as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Microtel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.