We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Salt Lake City)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free Offer
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Newly remodeled with well appointed furnishings, large suites, and most important, quiet rooms! I also appreciated the dining room table and decent size mini frig. Doubletree is right around the corner from the 5 star Grand America Hotel so the location is great. It's perfect for walking to everything there is to see and do. Mass transit is also easily accessible and free in the downtown area so you don't need a car. I have two con's. One was dealing with the wifi. I had trouble a few times staying connected. However, when connected, the service was great. The other was the breakfast. While they had a large selection of hot and cold items, and it was nicely presented, there wasn't one thing offered that was organic. They could add an organic yogurt and cereal and that would be enough to make this rated perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    147
    48
    14
    10
See reviews for
130
92
28
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here when we did a family ski trip with my kids, my parents and my brother. They gave us connecting rooms, the suites were big enough for me and my kids and my brother and parents. Overall, the experience was great we were able to park, store our skis and find nice places for dinner. The hotel is well maintained, the staff was great, and the cookies are out of this world!!!

It is also very close to the major highways and near at least two ski rental places that we saw.

The two areas I would point out is:

1.that the breakfast is limited to fatty foods (sugar cereals and waffles, eggs etc), it would have been nice to have some healthier options, more fruit, whole wheat options etc

2. The dinner place was really salty! We had two entrees that were almost inedible, it was so salty

Overall though, high recommendations for this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfoot, Idaho
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I took our twin seven year-old granddaughters for an overnight stay in Salt Lake City to see Disney on Ice. We could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Double Tree Suites. The huge open courtyard/atrium to which all rooms face, and a ride to the top in the glass elevator made an instant impression on the twins. Our room was a one bedroom suite which was huge. The girls loved the fact that they had the living room sleeper sofa to themselves with their own flat screen TV while my wife and I had a huge separate bedroom with a King bed and flat screen TV. The pool area was fairly large with a jacuzzi and pleasantly warm water in the pool itself. Breakfast selection was good with the usual fare of cereals, breads, fruit, and juices, with cooked to order eggs and sausage, bacon, pancakes, and french toast. The entire staff was very pleasant and welcoming and went out of the way to give my granddaughters more warm chocolate chip cookies as we were leaving. If you are looking for a good downtown location and a pleasant and relaxing stay, I highly recommend the Double Tree Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Clean, well appointed room, polite and helpful staff, and a pretty good breakfast. The rooms are suites and seemed HUGE and where well appointed. Coming back to such a room, perfectly serviced and with the radio playing made me feel as home as you can while on the road.

However, one HUGE problem as well. The wireless network was absolutely unusable. For business travel this is fairly important for me to keep up with the going ons. I mentioned it and they said they are working on it, but without a fix in 3 days, I would say that need to up the efforts more than a little.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The layout is interesting in that when you walk out of your room, you are overlooking the courtyard. It is a very neat concept and really gives you a homely feeling. The room I stayed in was a two room suite, with a comfortable couch in the entry room, dining table and kitchenette. The bed and bedding was amazing! The large windows did provide a view of the mountains, but also of some decrepit buildings adjacent to the property. There was not a lot of nearby walking destinations but with a car is close and easy to access several nearby retail, historical, and unique destinations. I did not eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant, but the breakfast was delicious, made to order. Free parking and a delicious chocolate chip cookie were nice perks too.

Room Tip: The second floor has direct access to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good location, easy access in and out. As always, service and support is very good. I always try to stay at Hilton Brands, so I am bias, as I find them a little better up to very much better than Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I really wasn't expecting much when I checked in, but boy was I surprised! When I arrived, I received a warm and delicious chocolate chip cookie - it just made me feel at home! My room was spacious, very comfortable, and quiet. When I realized that I forgot my toothbrush, I called Guest Services and they brought one up to me in mere minutes. When I asked about the cost of breakfast the next morning, I was shocked to hear it was free! And I'm not just talking about a bagel - this was a full cooked made to order breakfast. I had delicious pancakes and bacon. What a great way to start my day. Great job, guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City

Address: 110 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#8 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your stay at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City with a warm welcome, at this inviting hotel. We will even greet you with our delicious chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. Ideally located in Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah, our full-service hotel is only seven miles from Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC) and nearby many Salt Lake City attractions. Visit the Historic Temple Square or wander around the fascinating Family History Library. We are also situated nearby a Salt Lake City TRAX Station, providing easy transportation to many attractions.Choose from a delightful range of suites within this Salt Lake City hotel. Each of our stylish suites feature modern décor and are rich in comforts. Enjoy modern amenities such as LCD TVs and wireless internet access. Stay active and work out in the fitness center or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool.Choose from tempting menu creations in the hotels inviting on-site dining venue, The Plum Restaurant. Enjoy freshly prepared favorites ranging from colorful salads to tasty steak and chips. The hotel bar also offers a relaxing spot to unwind at the end of a busy day.Host an important meeting or special event at this downtown Salt Lake City hotel with a range of flexible meeting rooms. With 6,000sq.ft of flexible meeting and banquet space, including the latest AV equipment, our professional staff can organize any event. Corporate guests will also appreciate our 24-hour business center with wireless internet, printing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Embassy Suites
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.