We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain in SLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bargain in SLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel with spacious rooms. You can't beat the price. And as nearly everyone points out, it is convenient to downtown and the route to the airport.

Drive a little bit to find dining. Not much close by.

Street-naming system in SLC gives me a headache. Use your GPS!

Room Tip: No advice to give, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    167
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
97
118
23
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here,the location is good for getting downtown and to local restaurants.
slc is not a cheap place to stay but this hotel is good value,comfortable and the front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a quick weekend trip to visit the folks in SLC. I had tried earlier to book a room at the Peery Hotel where my sister and her husband had booked earlier on. Thought it was quaint and cute and the price at the time was lower than what we ended up paying at the Crystal Inn. Unfortunately, they were all booked out of two queen rooms, so I started searching and found the Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites, fairly close to the Peery Hotel. The pix shown were good but not exceptional, pretty average but the price was very competitive but still more than the Peery Hotel. I figured it was a quick weekend stay so I booked it for my husband and I and our two kids. Upon arrival, parking fills up in the evening pretty fast, typical but we found something fairly close to the door. The hallways needed some tending to from traffic coming in and out, there were some trash and stuff on the floors. It needed some cleaning, but not too bad. The room was clean with a nice fridge, small microwave, flat screen tv with Dish service and double sinks. The shower could use some water pressure, wish hotels would put in normal or more pressure because for someone with long hair, it takes twice as long to get it wet! Wastes more water, don't they know that?!... Beds were nice and clean, mattress pretty comfy. The thing we liked most was that there was a small pool and jacuzzi for their guests where the Peery would have been boring because they didn't offer any of those amenities and even my sister said that they still had the old tube TV in their room and not much else, it was pretty sparse! In addition, they have a complimentary breakfast buffet that was pretty nice for a hotel in this price range. Again, the Peery did not even offer a continental breakfast...and the Crystal Inn also welcomes outsiders for $10 to dine at their buffet! That was the clincher for me and I will definitely stay at the Crystal Inn again. We didn't have any concerns so we didn't need to speak with the staff much but they seemed friendly. The kitchen staff was very kind and accommodating when I asked for a table to be cleaned and more syrup, when they ran out in the buffet. We definitely got a bang for our buck. It's not first class but a decent coach! Try them!!

Room Tip: There is a small fitness room and sauna within the pool area. Also a guest laundry room, self paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

There was nothing extra special about this hotel, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. When I was booking we had split days... staying 2 nights, leaving for 5 days and back for 2 nights. Booking with them was easy and could have been a nightmare. They offered for us to leave things and/or car there while we were gone (although we didn't need to do so). The only thing that was not very good was the breakfast... we did not enjoy the food although it does seem that they are trying to put out a diverse full one for guests.
For the price, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room above the first floor unless you want to look out your window at a wall. The higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have a new favorite hotel in Salt Lake City!
Good location, we were able to walk mostly everywhere.
I love the oversized rooms with the separate sitting area.
We had a king-sized bed this trip, and it was soooo comfortable!
Air conditioner was very efficient and easy to use.
Awesome breakfast, and they do a great job at keeping everything filled. Lots of seating.
Yes, it does cost a little more than the budget hotels, but when you realize you don't have to go out for for a full breakfast, it is worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a upper floor. We've had both, and upper was definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Crystal Inn for 5 nights while in Salt Lake City. The location was wonderful and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see! Everything that was a bit more than walking distance was easily gotten to by the train, which was two blocks away. The rooms and beds were excellent and comfortable - much better than other hotels we've been to. I loved that the hotel has a microwave and fridge in every room. Since we were going to be there for a while, we took advantage of that and went to the farmer's market (only about a block north in the park there) to stock up for easy lunches and snacks. Their breakfast at the hotel was what you'd expect from say a Holiday Inn Express. Overall, it was great and we'd stay again!

A few things: they do have a shuttle to and from the airport. Make sure you sign up to return to the airport at the front desk. They do have a contract with some pilots/flight staff so they sometimes wait a bit to get them at the same time (we had to wait a while at the airport for that reason).

Also, I read a lot about the homeless in this area and that people felt it was a bad thing for this hotel. While wandering the city, I realized they are everywhere. It's an urban environment and that tends to draw the homeless PLUS the hotel is downtown. The Grand Hotel (a much fancier affair) is two blocks to the east and it also had homeless milling about. It is just that kind of city; I feel it should not reflect on the hotel at all. There are dozen of hotels in the area and I never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the east get a great view of the mountains and a beautiful sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel had it all! Extra large room so if you needed to hang out to rest from touring it was great. The breakfast was wonderful (and also free of charge).The security was visible ,which is a good thing in every city! The staff is friendly and helpful.Complimentary newspapers(USA TODAY and local paper every day......Nice pool....free WIFI.....comfy beds and VERY CLEAN room.The location was convenient to tourist attractions and if it was't for the mid to high 90's temps we could have walked to many places.Would stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.