We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the remote?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Where's the remote?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently as a result of a Priceline search. While it was a decent rate for a hotel in SLC during the skii season it was a pretty rough stay. The rooms are quite large, in fact you could probably put a bowling lane from the front door to the back window. They were moderately clean but the work space was non existent and the service very poor. When I called the front desk at 10:25pm to inquire as to how I might go about getting a remote control for my TV I was told it would be an hour wait until someone else arrived at the front desk. I went down and got it myself and there were in fact two people behind the desk. The second morning one of the guests on the floor above me pulled a fire alarm. The ensuing chaos was quite unbelievable as there were a lot of teen aged kids. I was the only person to end up outside of the building and the hotel staff was little to no help in insuring what had caused the fire alarm to go off. The Salt Lake City FD arrived to let everybody milling about in the lobby and halls that it was ok to return to the rooms. Perhaps this is more stupidity on the part of guests but I did think the hotel staff was remiss on not letting people know that they DID NOT know if there was a fire or not.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there's any rooms that are better than others but personally I would have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    153
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
98
21
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LITTLE ROCK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wife and I arrived in SLC and were about to call the Crystal Inn & Suites for a pickup but walked outside first and the van pulled up. We checked in with very friendly folks, got a large two bed room with refrigerator and microwave and got a good night's sleep. Had a great breakfast the next morning and left for a few days near Yellowstone but returned to the same hotel for the end of our stay. Rooms were spacious and quiet, breakfast for good, hot, and included; and we got free trips to and from the airport. What else is there?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with 3 other couples (4 rooms total) on the Cache Valley Getaway Promotion. My sisters and brother had recommended this package based on their earlier stay and we were not disappointed! The Inn has been recently remodeled and was very cozy and inviting. The promotion includes a lite dinner, large spacious rooms, warm buffet breakfast AND a dinner voucher for "2" good at any of several local participating restaurants. An indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room are available as well . . . All of this for a VERY AFFORDABLE price! We highly recommend this Crystal Inn and their friendly staff and look forward to coming again soon!

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suite was very nice! Large Jacuzzi, comfortable sitting area and nice king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Crystal Inn is part of a chain of hotels. Older properties, good locations, upgraded rooms (bedding and linnens, TV,microwave), good breakfasts (full and hot). They aren't glitzy and the locations, though convenient, not as grand, so you get a good stay at a reasonable price. We were here Feb22,2013,and it was full of skiers. Very friendly place. But not the towers of glass and big windowed lobbies that the newer hotels have. Easy walk to the center. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to Salt Lake. The service and staff are amazing and go out of there way to accommodate us, they are extremely friendly and always helpful. We wouldn't dream of staying any other place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neola, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

sounded like their was a helicopter on the roof above our room,, went and got the guy at the desk, he came up, agreed with us on the noise, the hotel was full, so he could not change us rooms, he said he would get us a discount or a free room on our next visit,, heard no more about it,, it was a night of noise, to keep us awake

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is your typical upscale motel with clean rooms that are in decent shape but could benefit from a renovation. It is definitely not worth the $158 they were quoting to the person when I was checking in, fortunately I paid much less. I chose this hotel because i needed to stay somewhere close to the airport (cancelled flight), had a free shuttle, and breakfast. Problems I had with the hotel was that the shuttle never showed up at the airport. I ended up having to take a taxi from the airport. (cost me $25), wi-fi was terrible with poor signal. Amenities in the room included an outdated coffee maker - didn't use looked dirty, low-end shampoo and conditioner, and scalding hot water in the shower. Breakfast in the morning was actually pretty decent with many choices and very friendly staff. Overall, I most likely would not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: It was pretty quiet throughout the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 230 West 500 South, I-15 Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#28 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Salt Lake City
Crystal Hotel Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Downtown Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Salt Lake City
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.