We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Svea

Save Saved
You added Svea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Svea
720 E. Ashton Ave., Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (Formerly Parrish Place B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peterborough, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Can't get away from the word delightful really. Delightful house, delightful room and delightful hosts. We loved it. Jeff and Karin made us so welcome and were so helpful and friendly. We stayed at a lot of b&b's during our stay in the States and this was our favourite. Karin serves a lovely breakfast in a basket brought to your room at your preferred time, and there's a conservatory where you can get tea, coffee and soft drinks at any time of night or day. Easy access from the interstate helps too. And when we said we were travelling on to the parks in southern Utah they gave us lots of tips for eating places and hiking tips. We'd go back like a shot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    26
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
82
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I came to SLC to have Eye surgery and needed a nice, small, quiet and private place to stay for 3 nights while recovering. Based on the website descriptions this place matched my needs beautifuly. When I actually arrived it was better than imagined.
The hosts/owners were just wonderful and are truly very good people.
Rooms were cozy, beds very comfortable, linens nice and smooth as silk.
Breakfast consisted of FRESH whole fruit and FRESH fruit bowl along with cereal, yogurt, muffin, a full carafe of milk, full carafe of Orange juice and a thermos of fresh brewed coffee... Much more than I could eat on any morning and I was able to enjoy it in my own room .
The owners were exceptional in making sure I had everything I needed.
This place is better than described. It is very quiet and private. If you are looking for a place to socialize with other guests and just hang around meeting strangers then this may not be the place for you. I completely enjoyed my privacy here.
I am looking forward to visiting here again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We will certainly recomment Parrish B&B to any one that is to visit SLC in the future. Although the location is close to the Hwy it is peaceful and yet within easy driving distance to the downtown core of the city. Jeff and kirsten are excellent hosts who looked after our every need. Breakfast was probably the best ever served to us in a B&B. Beautifully done. Thank you so much and hopefully we will be back again next year as we still have a lot to do and see in the area. I am sure there is a brew pub that we missed so Brian will want to take care of that!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We liked the beds and the breakfast. There was a lack of privacy for the bathroom because it was only seperated with a curtain. Everytime I went into the bathroom my husband left the room to give me more privacy. We were lucky enough to be able to use an extra/seperate bathroom so that helped out. I just think they should install leuvered doors instead of a curtain to seperate the bath from the bed area. I like the breakfast except for the orange muffins. I think they should keep buying the muffins instead of baking them. Beyond that, everything else was fine. They deliver breakfast to your room. There is a laptop downstairs that you can use. The owners are vey nice and accomodating. I only saw 3 rooms, and one had a bathroom seperated by a door, with a tub. Since the room had not been rented, I was able to use the bathtub even though I was renting a different room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We had a last minute change in our travel plans and had to book a room one day in advance, plus arrive after midnight! Our room was waiting for us and was oh so cozy for a good night's sleep! Thanks, Jeff, for the nice breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Our room was lovely, just as described, and we very much enjoyed the kind and helpful women who worked here, but we were a tad surprised and disappointed by a couple of policies. First, the owners are absentee, most unusual in a B+B, leaving their two employees to run the place all by themselves. As a result, the employees seemed almost imprisoned, and whenever they had to leave they locked up the common areas with a metal gate, which meant guests had access only to their own room and a small enclosed porch. The "view" from the hot tub was some sort of wall hiding the highway. Breakfast consisted of a muffin and a small dish of fresh fruit but the bulk was processed, packaged foods--sweetened yogurt cups, pre-packaged slices of cheese, and commercially prepared granola--full of sugar and calories, but not the sort of thing to sustain you on a day on the slopes.

This B+B is quite inexpensive, but we would have been willing to pay a bit more for some hot cereal or eggs, stronger coffee, and the opportunity to lounge in the living room whenever we liked.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParrishPlace, Owner at Svea, responded to this review, March 13, 2010
Yes, our innkeepers are aspiring to run their own B&B, they currently run our B&B and live on site (not entirely uncommon). The work of an innkeeper cannot be described as 9 to 5, it is a lifestyle choice and many people find it rewarding. As owners we know this as we ran a B&B in Aspen before buying and operating the Parrish Place for 3 and a half years. Regarding our breakfast, yes it is a little unconventional as we do not sit around a table all together. We prefer to offer our guests the opportunity to enjoy their stay on their own terms and deliver breakfast to their door. While we do focus on a healthy breakfast, that is always subjective to our guest's diets and needs. Of course all of this info is listed in detail on our website including our innkeeper's bios. It is always good to be informed about a B&B as every single one is different - and that is not a bad thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

House is very nice and very cozy. They don't build homes like they used to. Need to invest in some exhaust fans over the toilet. On our honeymoon, my wife pooped in the bathroom and stank up our whole room.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Svea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svea

Address: 720 E. Ashton Ave., Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (Formerly Parrish Place B&B)
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern•Historic - 1890's Victorian in the heart of Sugarhouse and just 4 miles to downtown Salt Lake, SVEA blends historic charm with modern convenience. Need peace & quiet? You will be happy to know that we do not permit children under the age of 12 at Svea. What better way to take in all of the beauty that Utah offers, than to base your stay here at SVEA. We focus on providing you service that is "Lagom" - not too much, or too little, just right so that your experience is your own. And free of charge, we will add in some dry Swedish humor/sarcasm; our way of making you feel welcome​.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Svea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svea Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.