We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun restaurant, good menu and food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aristo's Greek Restaurant

Aristo's Greek Restaurant
244 South 1300 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84102
(801) 581-0888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aristo's Greek Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 1,227 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 200 South and 300 South
Transit: UTA Trax University station is located one block east of the restaurant.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant, good menu and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thursday night live music adds to atmosphere, outdoor patio by sidewalk makes it fun.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“A winner in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

A truly exceptional menu reflecting the owners' home island of Crete. This is a family operation of the very finest kind. Mom and Dad are no longer as active, but he still grows many of the veggies and she still supervises the recipes. More importantly, she still does the baking!! Gotta try the desserts- I had to take mine to go...Aristo is the son and manager, and a most personable host. This place is absolutely worth the drive from wherever you might be in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just like Greece without the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Good service. Good food. Very Greek. Love the wine selection. Love the hummas with a twist.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food, but terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This restaurant is located within easy walking distance of the University of Utah. As the group (total of 7 people) I was with only had 90 mins for lunch we figured we could try this place out. We only waited a minute to be seated but it took them a while to collect enough menus to give to us. That should of been our first warning sign. The restaurant wasn't even that busy! After taking our orders, we waited and waited and waited. Other tables that ordered after us were served before us. Then when our food arrived, the server could not remember who order what even though he had written it down in order. He got it all mixed up! One person paid in cash and had given him exactly the bill and was planning to leave the tip on the table. The server came back and said, "What? No tip?" How rude to assume that someone wasn't going to tip you especially since this person was holding the tip in her hand and preparing to leave it on the table! The food was delicious, but the service was bad. We had picked this place because it looked great. The other servers seemed fine so maybe we just got the odd one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Greek Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiance and I decided to try Aristo's tonight and we were very impressed. The hummus was balanced well with lemon and served with warm pita - a delicious start to our meal of gyros. He ordered fries on the side while I got a small Greek salad. The feta cheese on the salad was melt-in-your mouth delicious and the fries were some of the best we have had in a long time (very crunchy and thick cut)! The gyros themselves were filled with perfectly seasoned lamb and tasty tzatziki. The outdoor dining was perfect for a warm SLC evening! We will be coming back to try more!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aristo's Greek Restaurant also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Aristo's Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aristo's Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.