We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandig” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
360 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2315
801-3282077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,226 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstandig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I went there with friends early April. Service, atmosphere and the dinner were outstanding. Everything we ordered came shortly and was with great taste. You really can enjoy having dinner at this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Restaurant mainly focused on Indian cuisine...but also did 'Himalayan' too. Staff were attentive and friendly. We started with the mixed veg platter...but it was all a bit greasy if I am honest. Should really have clocked that...Indian starter. The main was Himalayan style Chili Chicken. It was superb! Very fresh and spicy. I ordered my spices to level 3. They go to six!! Anyway, very good mail.
Price-wise it was very reasonable coming in at 60USD for 2 of us plus a beer each. Quite good price. I thought the decor was a bit shabby and it all needed tightening up a bit...hence 1 star reduction.,, food very recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find in Salt Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My brother and I were in Salt Lake for a week long ski trip. We both love Indian food and decided to give this place a try after reading the reviews. We liked it so much we ate here twice!
The vegetarian chili (and the chili with chicken) is spectacular. It had a nice spice level and was truly a wonderful addition to the many great vegetarian dishes I have come to love at Indian restaurants. The staff were very attentive and kept our water glasses filled. The naan was excellent. Usually I get a naan and a bowl of rice. This naan was so good I just had more naan.
I had the vegetable korma the second time and it too was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thumbs up!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was craving memos since couple of days but did not get time off from work loads. Finally i managed time and went to this restaurant and I ordered momos , ' fenugreek chicken curry and brown rice(my favorites) food was served in no time. Yumm yumm momos , the Chatni was super. All employes I found very friendly including manager. The main reason I go this restaurant is freshness in food and authentic flavor. If any one looking for fresh Nepali , Indian food this restaurant is the best selection. Thumbs up!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ate here with friends this past Tuesday and was really pleased that well prepared Indian food is available close to downtown. While the ambiance is not fantastic, the wait staff are helpful, friendly and made good suggestions. The food was flavorful, nicely prepared and the meats used were of high quality....very little fat or dishes swimming in orange oil. I highly recommend the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.