We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Salt Lake Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
St. Albert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was in a great location to Temple square,shopping,church museum, and even their bus line was almost out the front door. Their shuttle from the airport was also a bonus and the driver very polite and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant had a very good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price. The bed was also very comfortable. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Deborah H ,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. Location, Location, Location..

Please come stay with us again!


Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    164
    59
    12
    11
See reviews for
84
91
55
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munroe Falls, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently stayed at the Salt Lake Plaza while attending the Stampin' Up Convention. This is the third year I've stayed there during the convention and once again I shared a room with two other ladies. The location is the BEST ... just a very short walk to the Salt Palace (SLC's convention center), City Creek, lots of restaurants, and the Trax stops right in front of the hotel!
The rooms were recently renovated ... I appreciated the new carpet and linens, but I really liked the old arrangement better where they had a bench (for seating or luggage) and an open rack for hanging clothes ... this area is now just wasted space! They bumped out a spot in the room for the new closet, well hidden behind a lovely mirror ... this takes up some space and I had to call the front desk to find where the closet was! LOL I was happy to see the rooms still have the small refrigerator and microwave and though we never watched it, the room also had a good sized flat screen TV.
Speaking of the front desk, the staff there, and throughout the hotel, have always been very helpful and kind. At peak times, they could have a few more people to speed up the check-in process, but everyone was very helpful and patient.
The lobby area is lovely too ... people are always meeting up there so the nice chairs and couches are appreciated. Plus the hotel has a computer available in the lobby for guest to print their boarding passes and there's even a scale to weigh luggage!
I will definitely stay at the Salt Lake Plaza again because the LOCATION is the BEST and the staff members have always been great too. And although the price is good, I was a bit surprised that there was a daily charge for the safe which we didn't use. The person at check-out was happy to remove this charge when I asked about it, but I'm sure many people don't bother since it isn't large (a dollar or two a day) ... this adds up when they're charging everyone this fee. Oh, but the parking is very reasonable ... only $5 per 24 hour period with in and out privileges ... very reasonable for a downtown area! :-)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have the sink outside the shower/toilet area which is very helpful when sharing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear lj1225,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Plaza Hotel.

Our customers define who we are. We will keep trying hard to offer a great value and a wonderful memorable experience for our guests.

Thanks again,

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Kimberly at the reservations desk was able to find a lovely room for me when I needed a short stay. I spent Thursday and Friday, July 24 and 25 there. All of the staff were kind and friendly. The concierge/shuttle drivers Andrew and Adam, had excellent suggestions for dining and the free shuttle took me there. The room was comfortably spacious, with a king bed and a couch and plenty of lighting. My room, which looked over the city, and like all rooms was equipped with a refrigerator/freezer, a microwave, a coffeemaker, and other amenities. The hotel is located right at Temple Square, within easy walking of mall, sites, and dining. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Paula F,

Thank You for your comments. It is good to hear that our staff is so friendly and considerate. I will pass your comments on to those staff members you mentioned.

Sincerely,

Roger Workman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel has been renovated and is very lovely. It is located right next to Temple Square just a few steps away. Check in was very quick and the clerk was very helpful. Our room was very large and the beds were comfortable. There is covered parking for $5.00 and there is a tram service right in front of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salt Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Dear “Très bien ,

Je tiens à vous exprimer notre gratitude.

Sincerely,

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Smack in the center of the city and directly across the street from the Mormon Temple. And, less than a block from a very nice shopping mall. Our room was spacious and well-appointed...even
the wallpaper was appealing. The bed was very comfortable and a sofa made for relaxed tv
watching. A small refrigerator,microwave oven and coffee maker were welcome features. Our tour group enjoyed an excellent breakfast buffet prior to departure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear foodhoundBurbank_Ca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. The owners and staff are working together and trying our best to "BE THE BEST"

Our customers define who we are.

Sincerely,

Roger Vlaanderen
Front Office Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was up in Park City to visit friends and places I used to hang out when Iived there and decided to come down to SLC so I could also go visit Snowbird, Alta, Brighton etc.I lived in SLC when I was younger and hadn't spent more than a taxi ride through to get to Park City in years.
I don't find a lot too exciting about SLC honestly, but I did sightsee more than ever before on this trip. One reason is the great location of the SLC Plaza Hotel. That, along with the price, were driving factors to stay there. I was a bit nervous if it would be too yucky- it looked a bit run down from pictures and the exterior looked a bit shabby. The lobby furniture is a good five years beyond where it should be! But....the rooms are actually quite fine and clean. They look much better than the lobby. And the front desk were very nice and very helpful. It was very convenient to so much! I walked to many places from there and would definitely stay there again. I used it to base many fun daytrips up into the mountains, but it is tight next door to the genealogy building and next to temple square. Cedar Creek Center with tons of shopping and restaurants is only a 1/2 block sway and its right on the city train line. For the money: great value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate our customers. You are right about your comments. The Plaza Hotel has just remodeled all the rooms. We are getting so many compliments on them.

The lobby is a little dated....Soon we will have a new Lobby too!

Sincerely,

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff. This hotel is located right bedside Temple Square and across the road from city creek mall which has to be the nicest mall I have ever visited. There is a tram service at the door of the hotel that can bring you to the airport but I do think the hotel has an airport shuttle. Hotel is very clean with a great location plenty of parking spaces and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, General Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear GEW5 ,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review for the Plaza Hotel. Yes, the Trax does run right in front of the hotel. Hotel guests arriving at the Salt Lake International Airport may also take the Plaza Hotels complimentary Airport Shuttle a $50.00 round trip value. When you consider that and our already great rates we really are a terrific value.

Thanks again,

Roger Workman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#28 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.