We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel with a terrific location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Salt Lake Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“OK Hotel with a terrific location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are visiting the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, the Plaza Hotel is pefectly located, less than a block away at the corner of Temple Square. The renovated rooms are up to date and clean and the staff friendly. Free shuttle service to the airport, but be sure check on the hours that it is available. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant. The rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator, so one can visit the Harmons - a terrific grocery store a few blocks away - to stock up on items for a good in-room breakfast. Ask for a renovated room. When I return to that Library, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. An upper floor will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear stan w,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new rooms! We are very excited about them and love hearing what our guests think! And you are definitely right... with our location to the Family History Library, there's no better place to stay when visiting Salt Lake City! We will see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    159
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
79
82
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Plaza is one of the growing number of Hotels that offer a bed and little else. There is no mini bar but there was an incredibly noisy vending machine outside my room...so bring small change. I was using the Family History Library so the location was perfect...right next door. It is also adjacent the LDS Temple Sq and a lot of adjacent property is church owned, so I found myself at a restaurant that didn't serve alcohol! I got to listen to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir rehearsing which was nice. There is good shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Longmont_Mitch,

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our location to the Family History Library and Temple Square, two of the most visited downtown attractions! While the restaurant in our hotel does not offer bar service, next time you're in town, definitely talk to one of our very knowledgeable concierge or front desk agents and we can give you numerous suggestions of some of our downtown favorites that are within steps of our front door. We hope to see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Plaza is perfectly situated for visits to Temple Square. The downside was that the free wifi was very hard to find. I eventually had to stand in one place near the elevators to get a usable signal. It wasn't only me, I met others there seeking out wifi access as well. The Plaza needs to fix this.
If you're in town for access to the family history library, this is the perfect place.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The UTAH TRAX stops right outside. Parking is available at $5.00 a day. JB's restaurant is next door. The breakfast buffet there is good value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Longmont_Mitch,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy you enjoyed our location and hotel. Our management company had actually conducted a complete analysis of our internet system, including the routers and bandwidth, and had found the same problem you did. All of the new equipment has already arrived in Salt Lake City and we are arranging to have our new upgraded system installed within the next week. Thank you for your input and helping to make us follow through with our goal, which is to provide the best service we can for each guest. Next time you're in town, you'll definitely see the difference!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel has an awesome location!! It's right downtown in the action with plenty of restaurants, a huge mall, historic attractions, etc. nearby. We had a nice walk around the area after dark and never felt unsafe. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff was extremely courteous. No breakfast included tho.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear ohsuzyq10,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location, hotel and staff! We're always striving to be the best, so it's great to hear when one of our guests has a good experience. Next time you stay with us try the breakfast buffet at the restaurant attached to our hotel. We will see you next time!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is located right beside temple square. The reception was efficient and the room was large clean and comfortable. It is good the hotel can be accessed through the carpark next door and discounted parking rates apply. There is no breakfast provided but there is a restaurant attached if you want to eat close to the hotel. We did not eat breakfast but we ate there one night. The food was OK but nothing special. For other meals we went across the road to the City Creek shopping centre where we found a far better choice of restaurants. There is a second shopping centre within walking distance if you turn right when leaving the hotel and walk down past the Convention centre called The Gateway. This also has restaurants and some of the smaller shopping chains.

The only problems we has with the hotel was the local tram system stops right outside and this was quite noisy. Also someone's dirty room service tray was left outside our room door and we had to contact reception to have it removed as it appeared to have been ignored by the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel or high up to get away from the noisy trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear CraftingChris,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location. And thank you for your feedback on the trays, I will definitely be passing that information on so that we can better serve our guests. And you are right; there are numerous different restaurants within walking distance of our front door; something to make everyone happy! Next time you're in town, definitely make note to us that you prefer the north side of the building and we'd be happy to accommodate you.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel right next to Temple Square and an easy walking distance to the City Creek Mall. We had one of their newly renovated rooms, so it was clean, quiet and nicely appointed. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. It's also an easy drive to the airport and you also have the light rail right out front if you don't have a car. We had a nice room, close to everything we wanted to see. For an overnight stay in Salt Lake this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Flintstones123,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our centralized location as well as the convenience of the light rail right outside our front door. I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed the new rooms. We're very excited about them and love hearing what our guests think!
We'll see you next time you have an overnight trip to SLC!

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've stayed here many times - can't beat the location: right next to Temple Square and the FHL. Also walking distance to City Creek Mall and decent restaurants. Rooms are average - not bad, just nothing to get excited about. Elevators are SLOW. Front desk was helpful and pleasant. I've stayed at much nicer hotels for less price - this properties prime location probably has something to do with that. Someone needs to do something about the attached restaurant, however. JB's has been declining in food quality for the last 10 years we've been staying at the Plaza. I'm no foodie, but I found the food to be greasy spoon and heavy on the starches. Ugh. If they could offer a few more healthy options, that would be a great start.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza Hotel P, Front Office Manager at Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear spinpygora,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and were able to take advantage of everything Salt Lake has to offer. We are currently in the middle of a hotel remodel. Which includes our guest rooms, meeting rooms, public hallways, and soon lobby and common areas. Next time you're in town, give me a call. I'd love to hear your feedback on our newly renovated guest rooms.

Kind Regards,
Nicole Larrabee
Front Office Manager
801-521-0130 x 2149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt Lake Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake Plaza Hotel

Address: 122 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#30 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Lake Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Lake City's Dream Location Hotel. Located across the street from Utah's most visited attraction Historic Temple Square hosting six million visitors annually. Next door to the World's Largest Family History Library where you can research your family roots for free. Across the street from the Salt Palace Convention Center. Adjacent to the Gateway Mall Salt Lake’s Historic district. You will enjoy our friendly caring staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Salt Lake Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.