We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
greer
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“What a difference!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I just wrote a review about the hotel next door. It was about the Hilton Airport hotel. It was not complimentary.

The rating is based on similar airport hotels with similar daily fees (low $60 range).

The room was nice, the kind one expects from a good airport hotel. The restaurant was actually pretty good. "Captive restaurants", those located in hotels which are far away from other restaurants are usually dismal affairs. This one was nicely appointed and the service was exceptional and the food was well above average. The bus service to the airport was on time within a few seconds. The people who worked there were knowledgeable and friendly.

The only reason why it did not receive 5 stars was their lobby computers. Ours was broken and had to rely on one of the two downstairs. It did have FOXFIRE for Apple enthusiasts but the space was small and cramped with no printer. It was right next to a very, very small store selling snacks. Friends of the store proprietor were lolling on the computer seats when we got there and they quickly gave us the computers to use but I thought it was a bit tacky. The big problem, and the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 was the fact the computers were so slow that we could not access our email without an interminable wait. Manager/Owner...do something about this and you will get 5 stars!

Room Tip: These airport hotels in Salt Lake always seem to be pretty full so reservations are wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I appreciate the time and consideration to give us your feedback. I wish we had the two new computers installed prior to your arrival. They are being installed this week. Again, we appreciate your reply and your business and look forward to seeing you next time you come through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
27
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dietrich, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took a mini family vacation that included the last kid/teenager in the house for visits to the zoo, museums, Cabellas (for me), and dinning. I'm familiar with the lay out of SLC and and adjoining cities so when you take in the amount of interstate travel available from an airport location I give a nod to staying out away from the downtown. Take a look at a map I 15, I 215, I 80, Redwood Rd., Bangerter Hiw. With some planning and a Google savy navigator (wife) you can visit a lot of places from an airport location without to much city traffic. Ok, for the Hotel part very nice, 4 pillows on the bed now I can leave my favorite pillow in the car. Air conditioning worked great with minimal noise, and as far as noise the traffic and airport location was for me not a factor. The bed/mattress was one of those that I would call hotel firm after about six hour you don't want to be in bed any longer. The shower now this is where I get critical, wow it was great plenty of hot water, the showerhead delivered and no interuption from other guest using the water at the same time. The exhaust fan in the bathroom either didn't work or wasn't wired to light switch. No big deal I've shaved with a foggy mirror before. Our 4th floor location was great and I would ask for it again, the guest noise was very minimal almost none at all!!! We already had our dinning itinerary mapped out so I can't comment on the restaurant except that if you have a $10.00 hamburger or a $13.00 basic breakfast you should have lines into the lobby before I take a seat. On our second night we had spent all day taking in SLC from early AM till 8:30 PM only to find we can't find a place to park because the Studdebaker crowd had 2/3 on the parking lot roped off for themselves. Was I irritated, you bet when I went to the front desk for help I was given directions to the rear of the building using a private parking lot. Then a slog thru the swamp/grass where Canadian geese and mallard ducks from a nearby lake spent a great deal of time forraging and pooping. The next morning I had to retrace my steps back thru the ankle deep water with my family gleefully watching from above ready to film any angry goose/duck encounter. Ha Ha. I made to car without a YouTube momment. All of this for a Rambler/ Studebaker/American Motors gathering. I'm old enough to remember Studdebakers and yes I drove a Studdebaker pickup when I was young re: floor mounted ignition switch/swing away fenders, ha. We laughed at our neighbors driving Ramblers then came American Motors ok I've cried enough. I still favor Fords, ha.Other than my fit about parking this Hotel works and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask if the American Motors Club is going to reserve the lot for themselves, ha,ha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
David thank you for your post. I always appreciate receiving feedback from guests regarding their stay at my hotel. It is very valuable for me and my team.

My apologies about the hotel being overtaken by Studebakers! They planned their big event three years ago and were very excited to all be here together.......even though they did dominate our parking lot!! I appreciate your patience.

Thanks again for your time and your business. I hope to see you and your family again next time you are coming through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying here regularly since I discovered this place in 2007. The location is Great, easy to get around from here. The management obviously places a premium on customer service - I have seen no less than 4 groups of front desk, restaurant and bar staff come Nd go and all of them have been attentive and concerned with my experience here.

I have tried a number of hotels in the SLC area as I am here around 30 nights per year and this place is the beat I have found.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about my team and our hotel. It is very rewarding to see you refer to our hotel as your "home" away from home. That is the feeling we hope all of our guests will feel after staying with us. My team is very personable and takes great pride in delivering great service that our guests love.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

It's a new Holiday Inn but they give no extras. The rates are high for comfortable rooms. I'm platinum with Priority club and was offered no upgrades, discounts or vouchers. The staff was very helpful when I got sick during the trip. The in house restaraunt is about the only place to eat for miles around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your business and for your feedback. We truly do value you as one of our Priority Club Platinum members. I hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary chocolate chips cookies and Dasani bottled water that we have for our Priority Club members. We also have breakfast coupons for our Platinum members and we do provide room upgrades when they are available. Typically we are sold out during the week so upgrades are sometimes difficult to come by mid week. Again, I appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity next time you come through Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in two Holiday Inns this trip and both were great properties. This one, outside Salt Lake City's airport, is brand new and very fresh. Room was high quality, with clever allusions to Holiday Inns past (pictures with old signs, $8 room prices, etc. . .), a good bed, nice and updated decor, and an efficient bathroom. Quibbles include a door lock that didn't work so well--wouldn't lock back up, so had to get this taken care of with the front desk--and scant staff. Sometimes I went past front desk and there was no one. Also fitness center was almost non-existent. Would be nice if the hotel had arrangements with a nearby gym if the facility on site is so inadequate.

Location of the hotel is super convenient. Airport is very close (though Google Maps sent me the wrong way--beware) and downtown SLC is just four miles away, merely five minutes with no traffic.

Overall great value--my $51 bid was accepted on Priceline (usually about $129) and at the hotel, internet and parking are free. Beware if you use Priceline and require a double double--the Priceline rooms have just one bed, and getting a room with two beds will subject you to an upcharge. This is a heinous practice among hotels that treat Priceline guests differently, but they do here.

Interestingly, this is the only full service Holiday Inn in Salt Lake City, which I found odd. Does make it easier to locate though.

Room Tip: Double double rooms with two beds seem to be at a premium here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you TravelBeard for your thoughtful review. I appreciate the kind words and also the constructive feedback that affords us an opportunity to review our product and our procedures. It is through good thoughtful reviews such as yours that we are able to improve upon what we are currently doing. So thank you very much for your time, consideration, and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This holiday inn was gorgeous and he rooms huge. The front desk staff was so professional and nice, they let us check in early. I would definitely stay here again. No free breakfast but buffet was 1/2 with coupon from checkin so my breakfast with coffee only $5.75 each including coffee. The food was very good. We also ordered pizza last night and it was made from scratch and do good!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Annette thank you for your thoughful and nice review! My team really prides itself on giving great service and preparing tasty food so to see it in writing in this public forum is very rewarding. Again, thanks for your consideration and I to see you on your next visit to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the food at this hotel restaurant. The food was good and the service quick for our large group of 13. The fish tacos were yummy. I would eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your compliment to our restaurant! I too really enjoy the fish taco's......especially when they are grilled. I hope you will come back and see us again next time you are in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Address: 5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Newly Built Salt Lake City Airport Hotel! Minutes from Salt Lake International Airport, downtown Salt Lake City, and four beautiful ski resorts on the Wasatch Mountains, the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport West is ideally located. A free airport shuttle is available. Well- appointed guest rooms in rich, warm tones with spacious and well-lit work areas will delight you. Stay connected with free high-speed Internet access in-room and throughout the hotel. Tie up loose ends in our 24 hour business center and enjoy the HD flat screen TVs when work is done. Triple sheeted beds and a pillow menu provide a superior night s sleep. Dine on American-Italian cuisine in our full service restaurant or enjoy the ease of room service. Shoot some pool or catch a game on large plasma TVs in our lounge. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool. Plan a successful event with our professional meeting and catering staff. We offer over 2300 square feet of flexible meeting space. Visit these popular attractions while in Salt Lake City, Home to the XIX Olympic Winter Games: Temple Square and the Great Salt Lake. Visit our corporate neighbors: GE Healthcare, ADP, and IHC. Experience all that the new Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Airport West has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Holiday Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.