We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Home" in SLC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My "Home" in SLC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying here regularly since I discovered this place in 2007. The location is Great, easy to get around from here. The management obviously places a premium on customer service - I have seen no less than 4 groups of front desk, restaurant and bar staff come Nd go and all of them have been attentive and concerned with my experience here.

I have tried a number of hotels in the SLC area as I am here around 30 nights per year and this place is the beat I have found.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about my team and our hotel. It is very rewarding to see you refer to our hotel as your "home" away from home. That is the feeling we hope all of our guests will feel after staying with us. My team is very personable and takes great pride in delivering great service that our guests love.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
26
24
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

It's a new Holiday Inn but they give no extras. The rates are high for comfortable rooms. I'm platinum with Priority club and was offered no upgrades, discounts or vouchers. The staff was very helpful when I got sick during the trip. The in house restaraunt is about the only place to eat for miles around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your business and for your feedback. We truly do value you as one of our Priority Club Platinum members. I hope you were able to enjoy our complimentary chocolate chips cookies and Dasani bottled water that we have for our Priority Club members. We also have breakfast coupons for our Platinum members and we do provide room upgrades when they are available. Typically we are sold out during the week so upgrades are sometimes difficult to come by mid week. Again, I appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity next time you come through Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
471 helpful votes 471 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in two Holiday Inns this trip and both were great properties. This one, outside Salt Lake City's airport, is brand new and very fresh. Room was high quality, with clever allusions to Holiday Inns past (pictures with old signs, $8 room prices, etc. . .), a good bed, nice and updated decor, and an efficient bathroom. Quibbles include a door lock that didn't work so well--wouldn't lock back up, so had to get this taken care of with the front desk--and scant staff. Sometimes I went past front desk and there was no one. Also fitness center was almost non-existent. Would be nice if the hotel had arrangements with a nearby gym if the facility on site is so inadequate.

Location of the hotel is super convenient. Airport is very close (though Google Maps sent me the wrong way--beware) and downtown SLC is just four miles away, merely five minutes with no traffic.

Overall great value--my $51 bid was accepted on Priceline (usually about $129) and at the hotel, internet and parking are free. Beware if you use Priceline and require a double double--the Priceline rooms have just one bed, and getting a room with two beds will subject you to an upcharge. This is a heinous practice among hotels that treat Priceline guests differently, but they do here.

Interestingly, this is the only full service Holiday Inn in Salt Lake City, which I found odd. Does make it easier to locate though.

Room Tip: Double double rooms with two beds seem to be at a premium here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you TravelBeard for your thoughtful review. I appreciate the kind words and also the constructive feedback that affords us an opportunity to review our product and our procedures. It is through good thoughtful reviews such as yours that we are able to improve upon what we are currently doing. So thank you very much for your time, consideration, and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

This holiday inn was gorgeous and he rooms huge. The front desk staff was so professional and nice, they let us check in early. I would definitely stay here again. No free breakfast but buffet was 1/2 with coupon from checkin so my breakfast with coffee only $5.75 each including coffee. The food was very good. We also ordered pizza last night and it was made from scratch and do good!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Annette thank you for your thoughful and nice review! My team really prides itself on giving great service and preparing tasty food so to see it in writing in this public forum is very rewarding. Again, thanks for your consideration and I to see you on your next visit to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the food at this hotel restaurant. The food was good and the service quick for our large group of 13. The fish tacos were yummy. I would eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your compliment to our restaurant! I too really enjoy the fish taco's......especially when they are grilled. I hope you will come back and see us again next time you are in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to the airport and clean, quiet room. Lobby staff very friendly..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Glenn thank you for your positive feedback. It is our number one goal of course to impress our guests and it appears we were able to do so with you. Please come back and see us again next time you are here in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was in the recent PointBreak list and we were on a trip to Yellowstone, so I booked two nights without any hesitation. It is only a 5-10 minute drive to get to the hotel from airport. When we checked in, a very polite staff welcomed us and said we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It turns to be a mini suite with sofa and an extra LCD tv in a very small living room, but anyway better than nothing. They don't have free breakfast, and instead offer a voucher which takes 50% off our breakfast bill. The room is clean but the air conditioning can be extremely loud at night, which makes me give only 4 stars.

The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is a typical no-man zone, like in other US cities' outskirts. And I don't think there is any reasonable restaurant except the hotel's own within walking distance. But driving in SLC is relaxing and traffic is way better than other major US cities. So it is not a bad idea to stay outside the downtown and rent a car, if you can get a good price here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake. I will have my maintenance team look at the air conditioning unit to see if we can quiet it down. Thanks for letting me know about the issue.

Again, thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for choosing to stay here at the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport. We truly value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Address: 5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Newly Built Salt Lake City Airport Hotel! Minutes from Salt Lake International Airport, downtown Salt Lake City, and four beautiful ski resorts on the Wasatch Mountains, the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport West is ideally located. A free airport shuttle is available. Well- appointed guest rooms in rich, warm tones with spacious and well-lit work areas will delight you. Stay connected with free high-speed Internet access in-room and throughout the hotel. Tie up loose ends in our 24 hour business center and enjoy the HD flat screen TVs when work is done. Triple sheeted beds and a pillow menu provide a superior night s sleep. Dine on American-Italian cuisine in our full service restaurant or enjoy the ease of room service. Shoot some pool or catch a game on large plasma TVs in our lounge. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool. Plan a successful event with our professional meeting and catering staff. We offer over 2300 square feet of flexible meeting space. Visit these popular attractions while in Salt Lake City, Home to the XIX Olympic Winter Games: Temple Square and the Great Salt Lake. Visit our corporate neighbors: GE Healthcare, ADP, and IHC. Experience all that the new Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Airport West has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Holiday Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.