We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WingTips Bar and Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WingTips Bar and Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the food at this hotel restaurant. The food was good and the service quick for our large group of 13. The fish tacos were yummy. I would eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your compliment to our restaurant! I too really enjoy the fish taco's......especially when they are grilled. I hope you will come back and see us again next time you are in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
27
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Close to the airport and clean, quiet room. Lobby staff very friendly..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Glenn thank you for your positive feedback. It is our number one goal of course to impress our guests and it appears we were able to do so with you. Please come back and see us again next time you are here in Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was in the recent PointBreak list and we were on a trip to Yellowstone, so I booked two nights without any hesitation. It is only a 5-10 minute drive to get to the hotel from airport. When we checked in, a very polite staff welcomed us and said we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It turns to be a mini suite with sofa and an extra LCD tv in a very small living room, but anyway better than nothing. They don't have free breakfast, and instead offer a voucher which takes 50% off our breakfast bill. The room is clean but the air conditioning can be extremely loud at night, which makes me give only 4 stars.

The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is a typical no-man zone, like in other US cities' outskirts. And I don't think there is any reasonable restaurant except the hotel's own within walking distance. But driving in SLC is relaxing and traffic is way better than other major US cities. So it is not a bad idea to stay outside the downtown and rent a car, if you can get a good price here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake. I will have my maintenance team look at the air conditioning unit to see if we can quiet it down. Thanks for letting me know about the issue.

Again, thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for choosing to stay here at the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport. We truly value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent one night there on the way to Denver. Front desk staff was extremely friendly. The property is nicely decorated, the lobby has a good feel to it. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was spacious and modern. Comfortable bed and didn't hear any plane noise even thoughh we were on the airport side of the hotel. My only complaint was the lighting. The area where the bathroom and closet is was very dark. Our bill was ready under the door in the morning and we were thanked and told to have a great day on the way out the door.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! It is always nice to receive positive feedback from our guests.

Have a great week and we hope to see you again next time your are through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed on points and thought the place was going to be a dumpy Holiday Inn. It wasn't...in fact I was happily surpried at how nice a hotel this was. I have no complaints about anything. if you can get a good deal on it, stay here. There is nothing around at all except a small mom and pop restaurant...but for being close to the airport this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Holiday Inn's are not what they were back in the 70's and 80's; the great majority are new and/or have been refreshed during the past 5 years. In fact we just won the JD Powers Award for best mid tiered lodging brand in the country.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you come through Salt Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We got there really late at night, and left really early in the morning, so plane noise wasn't an issue. The room was nice and clean. It was less expensive than most other Holiday Inns, but I figure it was because there was no complementary breakfast. Had I bothered to check on that, we wouldn't have stayed there. With a family of 4, that "free" breakfast at the hotel is a big deal for us. To their credit, there were 50% off coupons for breakfast in the room, but since it was an actual restaurant, they don't start serving until 7AM, which just happened to be too late for us. Continental usually starts by 6:30.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a business class hotel which their trying to promote. Take advantage of their 5,000 Priority Club points per night offer -- normal cost is 15,000 points.
They have a bar and lounge but it needs LOTS of work because the service is terrible -- one bartender trying to serve a lot if customers. Food was slow to come and cold when I got it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Tim:

Thanks for your business and for being a valued Priority Club member. You are right; the value right now using points is excellent. The promotional period runs through July.

I appreciate your feedback about your stay as well. We do pride ourselves on being an upscale business travelers hotel with all of the full service ammenities one might expect. We also pride ourselves on delivering top notch service which in your case we did not. I apologize for the lapse you experienced and will use your comments and experience as a training opportunity for my food and beverage team.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and I hope to see you again in the future.

Ted Capener
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West

Address: 5001 West Wiley Post Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Newly Built Salt Lake City Airport Hotel! Minutes from Salt Lake International Airport, downtown Salt Lake City, and four beautiful ski resorts on the Wasatch Mountains, the Holiday Inn Salt Lake City Airport West is ideally located. A free airport shuttle is available. Well- appointed guest rooms in rich, warm tones with spacious and well-lit work areas will delight you. Stay connected with free high-speed Internet access in-room and throughout the hotel. Tie up loose ends in our 24 hour business center and enjoy the HD flat screen TVs when work is done. Triple sheeted beds and a pillow menu provide a superior night s sleep. Dine on American-Italian cuisine in our full service restaurant or enjoy the ease of room service. Shoot some pool or catch a game on large plasma TVs in our lounge. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool. Plan a successful event with our professional meeting and catering staff. We offer over 2300 square feet of flexible meeting space. Visit these popular attractions while in Salt Lake City, Home to the XIX Olympic Winter Games: Temple Square and the Great Salt Lake. Visit our corporate neighbors: GE Healthcare, ADP, and IHC. Experience all that the new Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Airport West has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West
Holiday Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.