We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 N 2100 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“More than a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The days of 1960's style Holiday Inn are long gone. This property was wonderful. Nicely decorated room. Free lobby computers and free Wi-Fi. We were upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member. 30% discount cert for breakfast. Front desk staff is very helpful.
This property (and every other hotel chain) is located 10 minutes west of SLC airport, just off I-80.
It's located in a safe business park.

We'd go back. FYI, it's a short 10 - 15 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments about your room, the sheets and bed, and the bathroom. Our housekeeping staff is AMAZING! They show just how much they care with how clean our rooms, and our hotel are. Thank you for the compliments and I will be sure to pass them on to the staff. Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope to see you again when you return to Salt Lake City! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
27
32
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I appreciate the effort this hotel puts forth. The room was immaculate. The bed comfortable with nice crisp sheets.The bathroom spotless. The breakfast was better than most too. If I ever come back I will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments about your room, the sheets and bed, and the bathroom. Our housekeeping staff is AMAZING! They show just how much they care with how clean our rooms, and our hotel are. Thank you for the compliments and I will be sure to pass them on to the staff. Thank you so much for staying with us! We hope to see you again when you return to Salt Lake City! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It wasn't the worst hotel we spent a night in. The area seemed to be a bit dicey. We checked in, and went up to our room to find it was smoking room that stank. We went back down to the front desk to change to a non-smoking, and the staff member was reluctant, however soon agreed; but only if we upgraded. The "suites" were much bigger than the other rooms, though were still old and in need of an upgrade. The air-con unit was extremely loud.
Breakfast was... interesting, with not much selection, but It was cheap, so that was fine.

Room Tip: When you check in to the hotel, ASK FOR A NON-SMOKING ROOM!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate it! I am sorry that you were given a smoking room at first when you checked in. Please be assured that it is never our intention to give a guest a room they did not book. We are not in the habit of changing a guest's reservation, it is something we just don't do. If you were given a smoking room at first, it is because that is the type of room that was booked, be it accidental booking or otherwise. Our non-smoking rooms sell so quickly that if you don't book more than a week or 2 out, the chance of getting a non-smoking room is small. We are happy that you were able to get into a non-smoking room and an upgrade. We hope you enjoyed that. Thank you for the comments about the air conditioning unit, the rooms needing an upgrade and the breakfast. It gives us things to look at so that we can improve. The breakfast is what Holiday Inn Express requires us to have, and any comment about the breakfast can only help the brand to improve what we have to make our guests happier with each facet of the hotel. I thank you for that! I really appreciate it! We welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you again for staying with us. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this property twice in the past. It's usually a slc option when other hotels are booked up. Showed up and was given a smoking room and then the 2nd set of keys was for a occupied Had to scramble to find a nearby hotel. Found a nicer hilton property for 10 dollars less a night.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am so sorry you had the issues with your reservation. We never want to see this happen with anyone. When it comes to reservations, we give guests the room type that is booked. We are not in the habit of changing room types on reservations because that only complicates reservations more. Something we have noticed is when reservations are booked through other methods such as company travel agent, 3rd party websites instead of with the hotel directly or on the hotel's website, there are cases where a smoking room was booked with a request of nonsmoking. We understand that some travelers have no choice, and have to book through the company booking tool. In such instances, we recommend contacting the hotel after the reservation has been made to confirm the room type needed. This way we can eliminate any confusion and do everything we can to accommodate our guests. Please be assured that we do not change reservations without being instructed to do so. The second set of keys that you were given to the occupied room is clearly our fault. I cannot apologize enough. This is something that should NEVER happen. I have taken your comments as an opportunity to train my staff. I addressed this issue with the front desk associate involved and am using this as a training tool for everyone else on my staff. I thank you for bringing that to my attention, I really do appreciate it. I do hope you will give our hotel another try. I am confident that you will find our hotel to be much nicer and a better experience than what you have had. Thank you for coming to stay with us, we truly do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are on a road trip from Indiana to California. This hotel was a stop over point. Boy it's in a bad area. The warning list they give you when you check in was kind of scary. But when you get in your room and lock the door it was fine. Fridge and Microwave. The air conditioning worked better than some we've stayed in. The breakfast had everything we needed and a little more. So if you are in the area and prepared to lock your door this hotel works great.

Room Tip: Lock your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your road trip. Indiana to California is quite the trip, so I'm glad our hotel worked for you. I am very happy your stay was a good one, and that you enjoyed the guest room and breakfast. I wanted to address the Guest Safety Tips that we give out when we give a guest rooms keys. The Guest Safety Tips card is a list of basic safety tips that the American Hotel and Lodging Association came up with to help ensure a guest's safety wherever they stay. You can find it on their website. We give it out because we want our guests to be safe, and your security is extremely important to us, not because it is a bad area. We are in an airport area with many businesses around us so the neighborhood really is not bad. I just wanted to clarify why we give the safety tips out. Thank you again for staying with us. Please stay with us again if you return to Salt Lake City. We hope the rest of your trip to California was wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERETT
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn location is very modern with great facilities. The staff and rooms are wonderful. I wish I would have brought my swim suit because the pool and spa looked very inviting. I ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was above average. I was very comfortable in my room and was able to relax and even get some work done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is like most other hotels of Holiday Inn Express. Good services for a reasonable price. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable with fresh, clean linins. They had all the basic amenities like microwave, fridge and free internet access in the room. The bathroom was large and clean with nice plumbing. The staff was polite and welcoming. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and filling. Decent little place for a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody1357, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments about the hotel. We are very happy you liked the accommodations for your stay. Thank you for staying with us. It is always nice to hear that a guest was taken care of. We do strive to provide the best service to our guests. Please come back and stay with us. We would love to have you here again! Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East

Address: 200 N 2100 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#34 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upscale Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Salt Lake City Airport East Travelers looking for a warm & inviting hotel in Salt Lake City will love this pet-friendly SLC hotel. The staff of Holiday Inn Express at Salt Lake Airport (SLC) provides guests outstanding service in many different ways. Corporate travelers appreciate the location and convenience of this hotel, 3 miles from SLC airport. Business meetings are easy to get to when you're 4 miles from downtown. If you'd like a closer meeting, consider our SLC hotel's meeting rooms. The 24-hr Business Center is ready for all your business needs. Leisure travelers love our beautiful Holiday Inn Express at Salt Lake Airport (SLC) because we offer an upgraded experience that will make any vacation memorable. You can head downtown to visit Gateway Mall. Also visit Temple Square, Trolley Square & the EnergySolutions Center. It is easy to get to the Great Salt Lake, 10 miles from our SLC hotel, since we're off I-80 and I-215. The best part of these Salt Lake City accommodations are the extras that make this a great Salt Lake City hotel deal. There's free high-speed, wireless Internet access. We have a free hot breakfast served daily and a coffee bar in the lobby 24-hrs a day. From the free shuttle to the airport and friendly staff, we make your visit memorable when you Stay Smart with Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Airport / East
Holiday Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.