We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a chance on a hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Inn & Hostel

Camelot Inn & Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot Inn & Hostel to your Saves list
Camelot Inn & Hostel
165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Fernley, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Took a chance on a hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hard to rate by stars and not fair to compare to other hotels. My experience of the Camelot Inn Hostel included a very clean, private room (albeit small). The baths were shared but private, very clean and fresh. The hostel has good kitchen facilities and washer/dryer available for guests use. The parking lot is very convenient and well lit. Overall, I felt very safe and had a good night's sleep. I have read other reviews criticizing rules and lack of staff attention but everything was explained in a very detailed email and the one glitch I ran into (replacing room key box) was addressed easily by a very helpful guest. I would not hesitate to stay at this location again, and again, and wish there were more places like this for a price that is less than many campground fees for a night.

Room Tip: I chose a private room and would be happy to do so again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    6
    0
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
5
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Evidently, you get what you pay for. My girlfriend and I elected to stay at Camelot after enjoying a one night stay here months ago. This time, we elected to stay a couple days and enjoy some skiing in the mountains and cycling in the city. We were sadly disappointed.

Thanks to disgruntled management, our bikes were held hostage. To clarify, we had an employee lock them up for us one evening. He told us that he didn't have the code to access the facility, but an employee could help us the next day or alternatively we could call the hostel's help line 24 hours a day for assistance.

We called the help line when no employees were present. The owner of the establishment, Arthur, answered the phone and seemed awfully irritated from the start. He was irked, evidently, that he had to talk to a customer. Once I explained the predicament, he berated his employee, John, and said that the fault rested on his shoulders. He advised me to contact John and promptly hung up the phone without warning.

I did my best to contact John, to no avail. When I called Arthur again, his tone was even more hostile and he accused me of threatening him when I announced that I'd be leaving a bad tripadvisor review.

To boot, the bathrooms smell incredibly musty and moldy and remind me of the dormitory I occupied my freshman year of college.

I realize that this place is offered at bargain basement prices. That's great. Fair warning, though; Arthur, who runs this joint, fancies himself "King Arthur" and will treat you accordingly. Don't bother being a pauper in his court. Shell out a few extra dollars and stay at the Motel6.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband booked a room for my son who was traveling to SLC. He booked over the internet for 2 nights. When he finished it said it was booked for a week. My husband tried to call and contact someone several times. When he finally got ahold of the guy who handles things he told him he would not rent to him. My husband tried to ask what was the reason and the he already paid and had a confirmation number by the guy just got mad. We then told our son what happened so he tried calling himself to explain he was arriving that night and would need a room for a couple of nights, etc. my son got a text from the guy saying "if you step foot on the property I will call the police!" I read in a review the guy was crazy and scary but I figured it wasn't that bad....my mistake. Take your business somewhere else and avoid the hassle!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.F. (Ciudad de Mexico), México
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The place is cute and cozy, outside looks strange, but the opposite, I highly recommend it.
Is located one block from the train station, one block from a restaurant, in the corner there is a Seven Eleven.

Room Tip: If your budget is tight visit it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place is garbage. The owner is mean and rude and can fight with you and throw your stuff out while you not there. Very bad experience staying here. They manipulate the price and you will ends up paying almost the same price as staying in any decent motel.I strongly recommend not staying here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Looking for a convenient and inexpensive place to stay during your visit to Salt Lake City? I stayed here for 5 days in August 2013 and found it adequate for my needs. Not many frills but I generally don't expect much from a hostel.

It's easy to find. Just look for the yellow building. I think it's the only yellow building in town. If you're coming from the airport, just take Trax to the 900 station and you're half a block away.

Rooms are about average and I slept fine with three other guys in the room. I had a little trouble figuring out how to actually get into the room because I arrived late at night and was forced to go onto a computer to read the instructions. You also have to deal with figuring out how to put the key back in the contraption outside the door when you sign out. But it's not too bad. Just different.

The common area has a couple of computers and a table. Not much space if you want to hang out with friends. You'll be near the downtown area, which isn't like a typical city. Salt Lake has wide straight boulevards with not a lot of traffic. You can walk or take TRAX practically everywhere you need to go. I felt very safe here late at night, and I loved how there were several car dealerships across the street so I could browse after hours.

Camelot is a very clean hostel. No musty smells like that place I stayed near Taos, New Mexico. Showers are nice although a bit cramped. But at least they're not shared like in some other facilities.

Refrigerator is right by the door so you can buy food and deposit it in there as soon as you arrive, and grab it when you want to take something with you for the day. All in all, I recommend this place. No big complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I reserved a couple of rooms only to find that something had come up and I had to cancel a couple of hours after booking. I called the hostel and was told that I was in the wrong to ask if we could work something out since the policy is that I would have to have canceled 48 hours in advance to get my money back, which would have been impossible since I had booked the rooms earlier that day. When I explained this to Arthur, the owner, he became aggressive and rude and kept throwing policies and "proof" of this policy at me rather than attempt to work with me. Tuns out that this is not the only bad policy. His hotel includes far too many extra rules and charges/fees hiding in the corners. This type of penny-pinching, inhospitable attitude is not worthy of a business. Save yourself the trouble and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, it isn't worth the risk to your wallet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Inn & Hostel

Address: 165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Camelot Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Inn & Hostel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Inn & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.