We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always get the same thing...shrimp salad sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dodo Restaurant

The Dodo Restaurant
1355 E 2100 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84105
801-486-2473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We always get the same thing...shrimp salad sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Every time we visit SLC we all order the shrimp salad sandwich to go x 8 people. They are fabulous! My hubby who doesn't eat seafood gets the Chicken Alfredo and loves it. Their food is delicious regardless of what you get. Yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    31
    21
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The food is freshly prepared with quality ingredients. There is a proper cooking time and I've always received great tasting food. The sandwiches are a little pricier than what you will find at other casual dining places, however, the quality makes it worth the price. The homemade pies are to die for. The chocolate almond is my favorite and is served with fresh whipcream.

The service has always been good. The one time it wasn't good, the manager promptly took care of me without hesitation which is wonderful because I felt like a valued customer. I come here often during my lunchbreak and it is a nice retreat from my work day. I appreciate the hospitality and concern when so many places are only concerned with money instead of customer service.

I enjoy the atmosphere. It's trendy enough for a younger crowd, but sophisticated enough for any age. I love the hardwood floors and comfortable seating. The big, beautiful windows let in lots of natural light. The patio is a great place to dine when the weather permits.

The only problem I seem to have is when it's really busy, it's extremely difficult to find somewhere to park. The street is full, the other surrounding businesses threaten to tow, etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“love the dodo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

my family and friends love to eat at the dodo....it is such a good restaurant...they have a very good base menu, but, daily they have really good specials...the salmon is delicious...i love the gazpacho...and you have to save room for dessert! their pies are so good...go on tuesday when you get 2 pieces of pie for 1! every pie i've had there has become one of my favorites...but, the peanut butter cream cheese pie is the absolute best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The menu was, expensive, the service good. We had a small fillet mignon cooked to perfection and gazpacho. the Gazpacho was a spicy tomato juice with cucumbers and avocado tasty but, not Gazpacho. The fillet had some brown sauce which tasted like a dark gravy. Deserts were large and of a cream pie type.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had a rare night out with my sister and her baby, so we decided to try the Dodo restaurant. We both enjoyed our entrees and dessert was fantastic. The service was great; our server was friendly to the baby, which always scores points in my book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dodo Restaurant also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to The Dodo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dodo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.