We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   423 West 300 South (Broadway), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
SLC
1 review
“Good Location and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Worked well for our family with young children. After a long day plenty of room to spread out and relax. Very easy to get around in the city. Was within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. Had public transportation one block away and was free in the downton area! Great breakfast and dinner at night during the week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    104
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
127
60
21
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Just spent two nights and was very impressed. Room was very nice, particularly having the DVD player, refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes, and silverware. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Free underground parking and close access to nice shopping area. Only drawback was its proximity to a homeless shelter which made running alone a bit scary.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

I took a weekend trip to Salt Lake City and stayed two nights at the Homewood Suites. This was my first time staying at a Hilton property and I absolutely loved it! The hotel itself is in an ideal location... just minutes from the airport and within close proximity to downtown shopping, restaurants and attractions. There's also FREE parking in the underground garage! The room decor was very modern and the bed was fantastic. It had down pillows and comforter which made it hard to get out of bed in the morning!

I'm a fan of these "extended stay" hotel types but this is by far the best one...

  • Disliked — Not enough lighting in the underground garage
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I'm a longtime Hilton fan, but had never stayed at a Homewood Suites. We live in Park City and just came down to Salt Lake City for New Year's Eve and this was the most convenient Hilton property. It was fabulous.

It surprised us to have free and convenient parking. Checkin was super quick and no hassle. The suite was huge with a big living area/kitchen and massive king bedroom.

One of the biggest assets was the free 5-7 "Welcome Home" service with free beer/wine and a fabulous creamy chicken and wild rice soup with salad bar. There's a new special every night. I heard breakfast was good, but we had other plans (and actually overslept it).

The location of the hotel is really good. It's just a block up to the Trax line by Gateway, and three blocks to a ton of restaurants. There's also an Iggy's Sports Bar adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is on the edge of the downtown homeless area, so do be judicious in walking around to the west.

The only issue we had were a few little maintenance items in the room, otherwise we would have given full stars. The video dropped in and out on one of the TVs and there was no way to set the bedroom clock to the correct time.

We will definitely go back again. Great staff, great hotel.

  • Liked — Location and suite style room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

I contacted the hotel the day before I was in Salt Lake City, made a reservation, and requested an upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite. I was told that I had received one after my flight landed at SLC. We took a quick cab ride to the hotel from the airport, and were even allowed to check in early. The room was the nicest I've ever stayed in. We walked in to a living area with a kitchenette. There were two separate bedrooms, one with a king size bed, and the other with a double queen. Both rooms had full bathrooms, ceiling fans, and flat screen TV's. There was another flat screen TV in the living room. We could have called this place home. The TV's were missing ESPN Classic, but had the other three ESPN channels. There's a good restaurant right around the corner called Iggy's. They've got pretty much everything on their menu. The hotel was also a four block walk to the EnergySolutions Arena. They have a snack market right at the front in the lobby. The beds felt like home. We could have slept longer in them had breakfast not ended at 9 AM. That was the only down side to our whole stay. It's free, so what do you expect? It ends at 9 AM, (I think it starts at 6 or 6:30) they didn't have any omlets, and, get this, THEY DIDN'T HAVE ANY FRESH FRUIT! There is a McDonald's half a mile away. Stay here in spite of the breakfast! Everything else is awesome!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed here with my family for one night while passing through town. This was my first stay at a Homewood. I would normally stay at the Embassy, but it was more expensive for this night so I opted for this hotel because it was similar in concept. We had a one bedroom unit.

The hotel is new. The rooms are nicely decorated and have little kitchens in them. Despite turnover, they manage to maintain the appliances in great condition. Everything was new and sparking, no complaints on the room.

I was outside in the early morning hours and walked around the neighborhood and felt perfectly safe. They are close to temple square which is worth a stop if you are in the area.

My only complaint is that they ran out of breakfast items and said it would be 20 minutes until they could get more. An employee was attending to the area though and appeared to sense the urgency to get more food out.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — It was clean and new.
  • Disliked — Not enough breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We were in town just 2 days and were lucky to find this for a great price under $100. We stayed in a studio suite with a very comfy king size bed with down comforter and pillows, large bathroom with tile floors and fluffy towels, a mini kitchen and sitting area. It was very immaculate, well-decorated and the staff was very nice. The location was walking distance to the mall, the Temple, restaurants and the park. We would definitely use this hotel again, if not any Hilton hotel as usual.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 423 West 300 South (Broadway), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new unique and 8-time award-winning Homewood Suites by Hilton is one of Salt Lake's newest and finest all suite hotels. We are located in the heart of the vibrant Gateway district. You are within walking distance of all of the city's finest restaurants, shops, and entertainment. In addition the hotel is situated within minutes of Salt Lake's business district, airport, and governmental offices. Make the Homewood Suites Salt Lake City Downtown your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites, Slc Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Salt Lake City
Homewood Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Downtown
Salt Lake City Hilton
Salt Lake City Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.