We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Scary Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   423 West 300 South (Broadway), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Blackfoot, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel, Scary Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was a beautiful facility with efficient and pleasant staff. However, it is in a scary neighborhood where a large number of homeless people loiter and a lot of crime occurs. We felt concerned for our safety walking to nearby attractions and even hurried from our car to hotel door in the parking garage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    103
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
124
58
21
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice. I enjoyed it immensely both times. Nice rooms, with kitchenette. Hotel restaurant was a Sport Bar called Izzy and Moes, and they had HUGE TV's. I'd gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the north side. You can see the Mormon Tabernacle and see the sports complex up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. I really enjoyed the hotel and the many amenities that were offered. It was down town, right near both of the malls. The only down side of the hotel was the close proximity to the park and the homeless shelters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and located within close proximity to many things in the downtown area. Close to shopping, tourist sites, dining. The one and only downside to this hotel is it is very close to a couple of areas where the homeless hang out. We never had any trouble as we walked everywhere but I was a little uncomfortable. If my husband had not been with me, I would not have walked anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This location in Salt Lake City, I consider it my home away from home. The staff are all friendly and it is very clean from the rooms to the lobby! The continental breakfast varies every day, so you do not get bored. I was very pleased with the fast internet access. The rooms are very roomy, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

If you were blindfolded and driven to this hotel, taking the blindfold off as soon as you enter the lobby, you'd think this was a top notch hotel, which it is, once you're inside. The hotel itself is very nice, and the rooms are fantastic. Modern, clean, and plenty of room to make yourself comfortable. I can't really find any faults with the hotel, it delivered everything we wanted, and is very convenient to downtown Salt Lake City, and the airport. The problem with this hotel is the area in which it is located, as when you're driving in, you can't help but notice the very significant homeless population living across the street in the park, and walking around the streets to and from the multiple homeless shelters and missions. While they never once bothered us, and did not appear to be bothering anyone else either, I have to admit we locked the car doors while driving to and from the hotel. The free parking underneath the hotel is not monitored, and anyone can walk down there, so we felt the need to watch our backs down there, just as a precaution, necessary or not. There is no security in this hotel, and anyone can access the parking area elevator and have uninterrupted access to the entire hotel. With that many homeless people concentrated right in this area, I would have expected at least some form of deterrent. Now with all that said, all of my negative comments here are based on my perception, and like I said, even with all those concerns, not once did we have any problems whatsoever. We actually really enjoyed our stay here, and would gladly recommend this hotel to others. Just watch your back, which really is good advice at any downtown hotel in any city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Everything about this hotel was wonderful -- as long as we were in the hotel. There's a park across the street that is host to a large number of the homeless. The hotel is within walking distance of some great upscale shops at The Gateway, but the walk there and back can be a little unsettling, especially after dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 423 West 300 South (Broadway), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new unique and 8-time award-winning Homewood Suites by Hilton is one of Salt Lake's newest and finest all suite hotels. We are located in the heart of the vibrant Gateway district. You are within walking distance of all of the city's finest restaurants, shops, and entertainment. In addition the hotel is situated within minutes of Salt Lake's business district, airport, and governmental offices. Make the Homewood Suites Salt Lake City Downtown your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites, Slc Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Salt Lake City
Homewood Salt Lake City
Hilton Salt Lake City
Homewood Suites Downtown
Salt Lake City Hilton
Salt Lake City Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.