We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Yorker

The New Yorker
60 W Market St, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2103
+1 801-363-0166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Yorker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,227 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 300 & 400 So/Main Street & West Temple
Transit: Public transportation, via TRAX light rail and the Utah Transit Authority coach system, is provided into-and-out of downtown Salt Lake City, with the Gallivan Plaza station only one-half block from The New Yorker's front door. Travelers should take advantage of the transit system's "Free Fare Zone" in The New Yorker's downtown area.
Description: Salt Lake City's premier dining establishment, specializing in modern American cuisine featuring seasonal refined dishes and approachable comfort food enjoyed in a casually elegant setting with impeccable service. From classic to innovative, from contemporary seafood to premium steaks, the menu provides options for every taste.
West Jordan, Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

A little class is in Salt Lake City. Great food and good drinks good service. It is a step down in social restaurants because it is downstairs. Great place

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utah
2 reviews
“wish lunch was more reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The ambiance is still great but its disappointing when at lunch you used to have a choice of dessert or salad with your luncheon special. Now its ala carte.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I go to the New Yorker 1 or 2 times a year. It is quiet and the service is great. We Love the food, we have never been disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in quality of Seafood.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Service is good but the food was lacking and it was very loud that evening. I could be barely hear my wife sitting next to me, so much for a romantic date. Acoustic issues that could easily be resolved. Seafood? Over cooked!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshseafoodslc, Guest Relations Manager at The New Yorker, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Ron,

I'm terribly sorry to hear about your recent visit to the New Yorker. We strive to have everyone leave with a great experience in our restaurant. Ironically I was dining with my wife in the restaurant the same evening, and I share the noise complaint with you, this time of year we have quite a few company and personal holiday parties and the night we were there it was fairly loud and difficult to have a romantic evening.

Hope to see you again soon, perhaps on a less busy evening.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My First Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sure, you pay for atmosphere in many fine restaurants. The ambience at New Yorker adds an exquisite, seasonal menu; a full bar menu; great service aimed to adults; great art (established local artists); clean floors, booths and chairs; an immaculate and well-supplied women's restroom (and suspect the men's room is comparable); valet parking; and timely, comfortable to-and-from shuttle services to venues for downtown performances (parking once is a plus).

Gastronomy Inc. operates several local restaurants. With the New Yorker, the owners have established an icon. For sophisticated dining, stay local, and enjoy lunch or dinner at New Yorker.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshseafoodslc, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Donna,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience! I will vouch for the men's restroom, it's also immaculate :) Hope to see you again soon!

Steve
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Yorker also viewed

 

Been to The New Yorker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Yorker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.