We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We plan our travel to insure lunch at Red Iguana!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Iguana

Red Iguana
736 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
(801) 322-1489
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“We plan our travel to insure lunch at Red Iguana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Mexican food we have found anywhere!
We plan our flights into and out of Salt Lake to insure we have time for lunch at the Red Iguana!
Delicious favors in all the meals, great drinks and amazing mole's!
After lunch we order meals to take on our way out to Park City!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    820
    254
    80
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ole, Mole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Delicious Mexican food! Went for an early dinner yesterday- and there was no line! (We saw a huge line earlier for lunch!). Had some yummy margaritas - the hibiscus one, and the spicy cucumber jalapeño! Delicious. House made salsa, guacamole, and chips were a great start, too. We asked to sample the mole sauces, and our server brought a plate with all the sauces, and while we sampled, she patiently explained each one to us. I choose the colordita sauce over pork, and my son had mole negro over chicken. Huge portions, served with rice, beans, and tortillas. So very good! Service was great, too. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is always busy here. They have 2 location now. Don't forget to asked for the mole sampler platter. Everything is delicious here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been coming here for years, this place has the best food around. The line goes out the door someday's. It is a cute place I love all the decor, very friendly service. Great drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real Mexican, Real Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is fantastic! It was pouring rain when we got there and were immediately offered an umbrella. There's a good vibe there and the inside is full of funk and people enjoying good food. We took others' advice on here and asked for the mole sampler platter. This is a MUST...each sauce is complex and different from the next. I chose the chicken simmered in the pumpkin mole and my husband had the almond mole over shredded beef. Both were phenomenal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Iguana also viewed

 

Been to Red Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Iguana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.