We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice treat for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Cafe

The Garden Cafe
555 S. Main St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
(801) 258-6708
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th South
Transit: Traxs light rail, Courthouse Stop
Description: A word from The Garden Cafe - Grand America Hotel Ambassador of Special Events, Ali Raafati, works hand in hand with Executive Chef Phillip Yates to make every meal in the Garden Café extraordinary. The Garden Café’s menu pays tribute to the finest “local” ingredients Utah has to offer, such as Niman Ranch beef, Morgan Valley lamb and Zoe’s Farm produce. Our famed Sunday Brunch features live jazz and time-honored favorites such as roasted prime rib of beef, jumbo shrimp, oysters on the half shell, and Alaskan King Crab for starters…and a special buffet designed just for kids! You will want to save room for the dessert display created by our award-winning Executive Pastry Chef, Jeffery de Leon. Experience the joy of sharing good food with friends and beautiful surroundings at the Garden Café (wine list and cocktail service also available).
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice treat for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Another LDS restaurant we enjoyed. Wonderful view from the windows, great ambience, wonderful food. Reasonably priced, excellent service. Another must try restaurant for lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    40
    19
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Five Star quality at Happy Meal prices. . .the lavish breakfast buffet here is only $15 Monday through Saturday. . .and frankly with omelet stations, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, beautiful pastries. . .I couldn't make that calibre of breakfast myself for that cost. Coffee and juice are included. The restaurant interior is lovely, but I prefer sitting outside in the lovely garden.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Garden Cafe - Grand American Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I violated my "Mark Twain" rule - don't eat where you sleep or sleep where you eat. I didn't sleep at the Grand American, which my colleagues said was a great place to stay, but we did eat at the Garden Cafe, their fine dining restaurant. I was sucked in by the website while searching for places to eat in Salt Lake City. Because it was the day we arrived, I picked it so as not to be pressed for time. Mistake, we were served "elf food", i.e., portions so small that it was ridiculous. I first got suspicious when I noticed the price on the Waygu strip - $26. That seemed cheap, so I asked how big the portion was - 5 oz. Fish special was even worse. Food was not bad, just not enough.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Slow and odd service... an order of a grilled cheese sandwiches for two took 40 minutes, and a bread basket and butter was delivered to our table in the middle of our meal. The hostess asked us five times if everything was okay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the name "cafe" trick you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

It is the nicest "cafe" I've ever been in. It's more like elegant dining. The menus seems to change regularly so I won't make specific recommendations but the 4 dishes we had were all absolutely delicious. A bit pricey for SLC but it's a nice, quiet place to eat with great service and very, very good food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.