We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pearl

Golden Pearl
1625 W 700 N, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-1914
801-363-5223
Improve this listing
Ranked #782 of 1,227 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unfortunately since my December 2012 review Golden Pearl has gone downhill. Not sure why?? The dishes are all bland with no taste or flavor whatsoever!! Its a chinese restaurant, dont they use soy sauce and sodium? The dishes are all onions, very little meat. As a customer since 2006 it looks like we will be driving a little further to find better tasting chinese food. Sorry guys, youve lost a long time customer and probably will keep losing a few more till the food improves but at this point I'm not sticking around to find out. See ya!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Takeout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Whenever I'm busy at work and arrive home later than usual I will just call ahead to Golden Pearl for my favorite #72 House Special Pan Fried Noodles (with no shrimp:) Always a good portion that feeds my family of 3. Love it, always 15mins to pickup. Thanks - Jason

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Until now I have been unsuccessful finding excellent Chinese food, in the area of North Temple on the west side of town. The Golden Pearl is so good I wish it were near my home. Located in a strip mall on W 7th North it may be easy to miss. Great fresh vegetables, generous portions and excellent value. There area a few tables but it look to be primarily for take out.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Value...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This restaurant doesn't offer much of a dining area, but they make up for that with their good food. We've ordered many different dishes over the last 3 years and have never been disappointed. The amount of food you get for the price is a great value. The quality of the food is awesome too. All the dishes are made fresh when you order. The staff is very nice and professional. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for tasty chinese food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
2 reviews
“Great place to get take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

If you are into quantity, good value and good food, this is the place. They have a large selection of entree's and combination meals. The physical space is small, so take-out is the best option. They do have some table seating available relative to a small cafe. Recommend calling order in ahead for pick-up because they are pretty busy most of the day. They serve both lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Pearl also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Golden Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.