We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Siam Restaurant

Thai Siam Restaurant
1435 S State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84115
(801) 474-3322
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 1,226 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I live in SLC and I rate this as the best Thai food in town. Don't let the location throw you off; it's situated on a bland block of ultra boring State Street but it's worth the drive. I'm vegetarian so I enjoy their full array of offering; the potato puffs being my favorite. The decor is acceptable and the service is always good. I can't speak for the dessert because I've never had it here. Ditto for the wine selection; I'm guessing the beer selection is okay and the wine selection is piss poor if you're serious about your wine. Just a hunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best Thai outside of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've been to Thailand--the food was great! I've also been to Thai Siam--the food is equally great!

It's authentic and accessible. It's also very reasonably priced--especially for lunch.

Try the Gang Massaman Curry, you can thank me later.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and Close to Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a nice lunch with a friend. I ordered Pad Thai, which is one of my favorite and fresh Spring Rolls. The Pad Thai was delicious and had lots of shrimp. The Spring Rolls were so fresh and yummy. My friend said she loved what she ordered. Can't remember what it was, but looked so good. There are so many Thai restaurants in SLC but this one is at the top of my list. I have eaten at several in SL and really liked this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another strike out in Salt Lake City”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Being a big fan of Thai food I was a little disappointed at the cuisine. As per most of Salt Lake's Asian restaurants everything was too sweet and not traditionally seasoned. I had the fried spring rolls and they were overcooked, the Pad Thai was sweet without much peanut flavor. The service was slow and I did not get my beverage until halfway through my meal after I requested it. I was never offered a refill and had to ask multiple times for a to go box as well as a bag to put it in. The price for lunch was around $15. Overall I will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Thai. Slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

They had very good Thai food, however, the service was slow. The wait staff was very nice, just slow. I had the chicken satay and red curry duck. The satay was excellent and the peanut sauce was good. The cucumber salad was weak as it was mostly fish sauce and no cucumber. The duck was tasty and tender and Thai hot was just the right temp for Thai hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Thai Siam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Siam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.