We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals like it, I don't know why” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cinegrill

Cinegrill
1000 S. Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
+1 801-328-4900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 1,101 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Large groups, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Doing business, Large groups, Families with children
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Locals like it, I don't know why”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ordinary food, pathetic pianist (lousy piano too), service marginal, but loyalty to the memory of the late Eugene Jelesnik, a local talent show host, prevails. Not for a romantic date, more suited for a take out salad.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Utah
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My Italian Sausage sandwich was plain on a dry bun with two dry sausage patties. Salad was just OK. Service was good. I don't think I want to go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midvale, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WORST SERVICE EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Waitress left us sitting at our table for half an hour, my friend had to remind the server to bring her already prepared spaghetti, salad was SOAKED in dressing, and waitress had the nerve to tell me I was high maintenance when I told the manager about the extremely poor service. Run, don't walk away from this place! Over priced and horrible service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We need to go more often!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cinegrill has been a family favorite for over 40 years. I'd not been in awhile, and it was as good as I remember, maybe better. The corned beef sandwich is unbelievable, and the restaurant is famous for its house salad dressing. We'd forgotten how good the pizza is! And the French onion soup is wonderful too. It feels like going to a friends house for old favorites. And the price was great. Don't remember when 6 of us ate for under $100. Love this place. Don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An old Salt Lake Standby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you eat nothing but the house salad with their amazing dressing, you will still come away very satisfied. Other entrees are good, but the Italian dressing is superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinegrill also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Cinegrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinegrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.