We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curry in a Hurry

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Curry in a Hurry
2020 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84115-2314
(801) 467-4137
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 1,226 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Its worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located on the west side of state street just before 2100 south is a gem of an eatery called 'Curry in a Hurry'. When asking my wife what she would like for dinner she suggested "something like a rice bowl" I told her we could do better than that and I brought her here. She was excited because she had been here before but not for some time. I had eaten here at lunch just the week before and loved it so much I had to come back.

"You have got to try the pastries with potato's in it" she said. We found out from the owner himself that they are Samosa's. We ordered the Lamb Combo plate with potato curry and two Samosa's on the side. Once again I was impressed with the delicious offerings of which I was partaking. Yum!

The two of us shared the plate and were both very satisfied with the amount of food.

I had the Chicken curry combo the week before and I must say that the coconut curry on the chicken was my favorite, but the lamb, with its tomato curry was a close second.

You know we will be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Curry in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This Halal food found in a tiny "hole in the wall" is the best Indian/Pakistani cuisine you'll find in the state. Owner operated by a friendly couple who love to cook their favorite food, it is a tiny place, but you can always take out and believe me, it's worth a 30 mile drive. My mouth is watering right now.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly and the best curry in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This little Mom & Pop restaurant dishes up the best curry in Salt Lake City, in a hurry! Family owned and operated since its beginning, Curry in a Hurry offers both very fast take out as well as a small but comfortable dining area. Curry in a Hurry also has a variety of meat-free dishes, which makes it very appealing to those who do not eat meat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent To Go Curry Option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Curry in a hurry is one of those places where the name of the place is spot on. Simply put if you are looking for a quick curry fix on the go and want to get in and out quickly this is your place. The food here doesn't compare with the other choices that exist in Salt Lake City but for what it is, curry dishes to go served in styrofoam boxes, it is good enough. The Naan will not impress anyone and the curry is not particularly memorable, but it is solidly executed with some good heat. Service is average at best, the game here is volume, not a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Curry, super fast. Whats in name?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love C in a H. The line can be long, and plan on getting it to go if you go around lunch, but the lamb is great!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry in a Hurry also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Curry in a Hurry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry in a Hurry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.