We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross, don't waste time or money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Frontera

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Frontera
1236 W 400 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84104-2336
(801) 532-3158
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #794 of 1,225 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
1 review
“Gross, don't waste time or money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The food is bland. Salsa is gross. Service is slow, the food comes out quickly. They never come back to see if you need anything. Such as a drink refill. If you'd like a drink refill or your check. Make sure you have lots of patience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When the father founder was still running this chain, the food was great and the service was wonderful. You can certainly tell now that it isn't being run the same.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food and a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best Smothered Burritos i've ever had.... Their large combination is a plethora of food for $9. You get a burrito, taco, tostada, enchilada, chile verde, beans, rice, and yummy tortilla.... Everything is good but the Chile Verde is the Best!!! My family has gone there for years. In fact every time they come to visit La Frontera is a Given to go out to eat

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A sad experience of Mexican food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our waitress was in such a rush, it was hard to understand what she was recommending and how to order exactly what we wanted. The food was nasty, spicy, and the tripe was rotten. I know Chilis and Cafe Rio may not be considered "authentic" but I'll take their foods any day over La Frontera.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cover it in sauce and cheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife loves mexican food like this. I dont. La Frontera does it as good as anyone though. The fajitas my wife ordered were great. The small combination I had was okay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Frontera also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to La Frontera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Frontera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.