We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest owner ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Cafe & Market

Atlantic Cafe & Market
325 S Main St, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-2702
801-524-9900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 1,227 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rudest owner ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I did not choose to eat at this establishment as the owner was possibly the rudest person I have ever met. We arrived at 545 and parked in front of his establishment. He pulled up and rudely stated that if we did not have a freight pass he was going to call a tow truck even though open parking started at 600. He was belligerent and disrespectful to potential patrons. In the end he merely opened the door dropped a box off and then left. The epitome of what customer service has become. Very sad.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nampa, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Greek salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We discovered this during a walk downtown, and my husband really wanted a Greek salad. He was not disappointed. I had a gyro and small greek salad as well, and both were great! It was quiet as I think it was about closing time, and also there was a big football game at the University. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Monster panino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I went for a stroll downtown Salt Lake during a long layover and stumbled upon this place. Monster prosciutto and salame panino with a side of surprisingly good french fries. Very laid back atmosphere which is in total contrast with US.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Needs to obtain a tavern license”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We used to love this place, but the last few times we've been have been below average. First if we ordered chai or coffee, sometimes we'd get a small cup and sometimes we'd get a pretty large cup but they only offer one size on the menu and we were charged the same price both times. The other thing is we went in late one night after eating and my friend ordered a glass of wine. The waiter came back after they had started drinking the wine and informed us that we had to order food because of Utah laws. So we'd already eaten and now we were looking at spending another $4-5 on something. Neither of us were hungry but ended up ordering a dessert which turned out to be very 'blah.' So we go to a place after 11pm at night for a simple drink and chat and are forced to buy something we don't want to and that turns out to be something we don't want to eat. How embarrassing! Can you guys please get a tavern license or something. Why stay open so late if people are almost forced to buy something to eat? Our visit was ruined just because you guys won't take the extra step and apply for a tavern license!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat here, you will enjoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We first ate at the Atlantic five years ago and were delighted with the service and fare. We eat at the atlantic at least every month or so and they are consistently friendly and the food is always flavorful, well presented and prepared well. We have not been disappointed, ever.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Cafe & Market also viewed

 

Been to Atlantic Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Cafe & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.