We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in the Hotel Monaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bambara

Bambara
202 S Main St, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 363-5454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bambara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 1,225 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 200 South
Transit: TRAX stop on Main Street Between 200-300 South UTA Bus Stop on 200 South at Main Street
Description: Bambara: A Salt Lake City Restaurant Celebrating Past and Present With a tempting New American Bistro menu featuring a "World of Flavors" and a playful sense of whimsy and style, Bambara is one of downtown Salt Lake City's liveliest restaurants. Housed in the historic Continental Bank lobby, Bambara Salt Lake City expertly melds a sense of tradition with a very contemporary energy, at once colorful and elegant. Located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, our nationally recognized, award-winning restaurant has attracted a devoted following that expands daily.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food in the Hotel Monaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We only ate breakfast here as we were staying in the hotel Monaco. The food was great and well portioned. Service was timely and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    47
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The waiter was awesome and the staff incredible. They even had our names on the menu! Waiter explained everything, the scallops were great accoeding to my husband, and the halibut was to die for (and I am from Alaska!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best without the pretentiousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Simply put everything from start to finish was great! I had the filet rare plus and it was cooked perfectly. The flavor was excellent as well. They were also very accommodating in avoiding dairy at my request. I would strongly suggest dropping in for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate at Bambara on the recommendation of a friend. The food was delicious, the service was superb. Our waiter Jake was very attentive to our needs and anticipated them well. My wife ordered the lamb well done, but it came out significantly undercooked. Jake noticed this in passing and didn't waste time taking it back.
The food is very good, however I felt it is somewhat overpriced. The atmosphere was nice.
I would recommend Bambara for the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OMG Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at motel we were staying at, he told us it had been voted best restaurant in SLC 3 or 4 times..seriously, this place was amazing, from the service to the food, there would be no way I could have been more impressed, I actually had to stop myself from licking the plate after meal and dessert, I was that close to doing it, believe me ..lol
Do yourself a favour and put this on ur list of places to eat, u won't be disappointed. wasn't cheap but wasn't all that expensive either, was well worth what u pay. and Sarah was simply amazing as our waitress

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambara also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Bambara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.