We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent after all these years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sampan Chinese Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sampan Chinese Cuisine
675 E 2100 S Ste C, Salt Lake City, UT 84106-1897
(801) 467-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #808 of 1,227 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Vegetarian
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still excellent after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I moved away from UT in the late 1990's. However, in the mid 1990's I ate at the Sampan at least a dozen times for various reasons and was never disappointed, nor were those I ate with. I have eaten here twice in the last year when I returned to UT and there have been some changes but it is still excellent. I do not agree with some comments that claim it has gone downhill, unless I always catch them on good days (or others on bad days).

The food is great, reasonably priced, and the service is OK. I can get items that are not overly fried, that taste great, and we can share our entrees the way the Sampan serves the food. This place is not the top notch fine dining, but for simple dinning for great Chinese food definite thumbs up. I will be returning on my next visit to SLC.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fallen Gem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

For years this was a favorite Chinese restaurant in the area - but I hadn't been there in a while. We returned several times in the past few months craving good Chinese food, but won't be going back again. The fried dishes consistently smelled like old oil, and after our last visit, both of us got sick. Bummer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“High-end Chinese without the high-end prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My hubby craves their General Tao's chicken, and I adore their Curry Chicken. The ambiance is a lovely, low-light setting with cozy booths, low or high tables and warm decor. The waitstaff is efficient and friendly. Your brought crispy wonton strips to dip in a sweet and sour sauce until your appetizer or meal arrives. The meals are served family style, so that you can share your dish if you choose. The location is convenient and just a short ride from hotels located by the airport. Bring your sweetheart and your appetite.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for Chinese take out or delivery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I have been ordering take out from Sampan for 11 years now. We love the General Tsao's Chicken, Chicken lo mein, pot stickers and egg rolls. It's definitely our favorite place for Chinese take out or delivery.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Did cope well with the half full resturant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Needed more staff, to cater for all the Chinese who turned up by coach. The food was ample but greasy, and wouldnt go again, I have been to some great Chinese restaurants in the US and this was not one.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Sampan Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampan Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.