We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese dish - seafood is fresh w/ large quantity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Star Chinese Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asian Star Chinese Cuisine
7588 South Union Park Ave. ( 1300 East ), Salt Lake City, UT 84121
801 566 8838
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese dish - seafood is fresh w/ large quantity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The yummy can match NY china town. We ordered 3 dishes for the family of 4: Fish of the day - Sea Bass in Ginger sauce, Ginger shrimp, Mixed seafoods. Delicious, large dish, and good price - average $15 per seafood dish. It exceeds our expectation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    15
    4
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Chinese. I've been coming here for 15+ yrs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Back when Gary first started Ocean City down by Cottonwood Mall we got hooked on his food. When he moved to the Racquet Club near Big Cottonwood, it remained our family's favorite special occasion place. Last week we celebrated our parents 40th wedding anniversary, and we couldnt think of a more fitting place given all the memories. Can't tell you how many times we've left the menu in Gary's hands and discovered something new. He's been a fixture there as long as I can remember and he works his butt off to make this place great.

Like many others here our favorite dishes are the Pon Pon chicken, walnut shrimp, and broccoli beef, but our surprise on this trip was the sushi. The spicy tuna role was delicious, even compared to the sushi here in Seattle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is the place I always suggest for great Chinese food. The food is to die-for yummy, especially the Walnut Shrimp, Pon Pon Chicken and Tangerine Beef. If you're not sure what you want to order, ask Gary to give you suggestions. He never steers you wrong. When all things tumble down around you, THIS is the place that will always give you the consistency you desire. Perfect service, perfect food. Couldn't be better. Thank you for being the BEST!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, fast and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had lunch here today with six other friends. We were promptly seated and served. I ordered the chicken kung pao and it was fantastic. It also came with soup (I had hot and sour). Their hot and sour soup is one of the very best I've ever had.

Our waitress was very attentive throughout the meal and was quick to clear dishes and refill our glasses.

I have eaten here a few other times and each time has been wonderful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good, but overhyped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I think the cards were stacked against it from the start. My friend always raved about it so much that the expectations were too high.

The place is fine. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about. The food was warm, the parking was free (or maybe I just disregarded the valet?).

The food was fine, but maybe just overhyped by my buddy. It had a good atmosphere though and had pretty big portions. I don't see why I wouldn't come back, but otherwise I would rate it as an above average Chinese joint.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Star Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Asian Star Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Star Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.