We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes ! This is the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Molise

Caffe Molise
55 W 100 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1507
801-364-8833
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Molise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,226 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On 100 South between West Temple and Main Street
Transit: Get off on the TRAX City Center stop and walk 1/2 block West on 100 South Street.
Southern New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yes ! This is the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just finished our meal at Caffe Molise, As Lori as our wait person. We were very satisfied. We sartted with the Butternut squash ravioli appetizer, YUM ! I had the fish special of the night, A tuna steak cooked to perfection. My wife had the beef tenderloin which was also perfect. we were there the night before just for a late desert and coffee. It was Friday so the had a jazz trio out on the patio. This was just a very pleasant eating experience. Good food, wine and people

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    74
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Find in Downtown SLC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A member of the desk staff at the Marriott Downtown at City Creek recommended this restaurant, which is just across the street from the hotel. Wanting to avoid hotel food, we eagerly walked across to see the menu, which some might consider limited but it was perfect for two not fussy travelers. The best part, though, was being able to sit outside on the patio with a glass of wine--yes, wine in downtown SLC. No membership fees or clubs to join, just a decent wine list and a no hassle policy.

The outside setting with little white lights strung between the trees was wonderful, and the night we visited, a jazz trio was playing loudly enough to be heard, but not so loud as to disturb our conversation. A large family group with runaway children was the only distraction, and we wished someone from the staff would have told the parents to corral their kids. Our fault for not asking for another table.

The menu is regional and entrees come with a small salad and vegetable. The pork tenderloin came with seasonal vegetables (squash and green beans plus garlic mashed potatoes) while the pastas come only with a salad. The gnocci was served in a light creamy tomato sauce--a great complement to a dish that was rich and filling. There are a lot of chicken dishes on the menu, plus a shrimp and a daily fish offering, but no veal. The pasta choices are about the usual, although some ingredients are slightly different from what you might expect.

Since we had skipped the appetizer, we allowed ourselves a dessert to share: panna cotta gelato. There was plenty for two people, and yes, coffee and tea are available. The other dessert choices included tiramasu and a chocolate cake, plus vanilla or chocolate gelato.

This would be a good place for a romantic evening or even a business dinner, plus please, leave the kids at home with a sitter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had excellent vegetarian dish ("eggplant meatballs"). Enjoyed nice patio, friendly service, good value, comfortable atmosphere for female, solo business traveler.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat before a show at the Capitol Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Food was good. Prices reasonable. Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. Easy walking distance to theatre.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I go here every time I am in SLC in the summer as it has it all, great food, great staff and a great outdoor area in which to dine.

The outside area is what really makes this location for me as you are in an outdoor area with trees around you, a pool with running water and great weather.

The staff are amongst the friendliest I have met in SLC and they serve some great food. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a great night out, either as a romantic location, a business meal or a group of friends.

It really feels like you are dining with friends when you eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Molise also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Caffe Molise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Molise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.