We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar

Kobe Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar
3947 S Wasatch Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84124
(801) 277-2524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #635 of 1,225 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Restaurant details
1 review
“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Waited 40 minutes to get out two rolls after ordering. No one came and asked if we needed/wanted anything else or another soda refill. Had to get up and ask for the check, ones we got the check they made a"mistake" and charged us more. I definitely DON'T recommend this place to anyone!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This place is great! Delicious food, small and cozy, and friendly staff! My entire family liked it, except from the person who tried the Hellfire Challenge! It's hot! Don't try it, but do try the restaurant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful Sushi, Service and Atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

By far the worst sushi place we have been to in the valley. The food is incredibly overpriced for the minuscule portion size besides just tasting awful. Our sushi tasted old - not fresh at all and a few of our rolls tasted too much like the wood they were cut on. The service was terrible. Our waitress was not attentive and it took us a good 20 minutes to finally get our check when the place was not very crowded. The atmosphere was terrible with strange shows playing that made us feel uncomfortable besides the end of the bar being converted over to a work station - laden with papers and calculators clearly meant for business dealings. We had a Groupon, still paid over $30 for 3 terrible rolls and then ended up going to Subway to try and get the taste out of our mouths. We will never go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good sushi but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've been here probably half a dozen times over a couple years. The owner/chef is a very good chef and charismatic entertainer. BUT the help he hires up front should be better trained in customer services. Every time we've been there the host/hostess has no clue where to seat us (and they were not that busy). The servers are usually pleasant enough and there was not ever a long wait for the sushi, which also was very good, but they just plain dropped the ball when it came to checking back after delivery of the sushi and particularly when it was time to pay the check. Bottom line the sushi is very good but the service details need improvement. If it weren't for the Groupons we use we probably wouldn't bother going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Discount coupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had a coupon from KSL Deals and I had seen the Man vs Food episode from here, so we went. The food was very good. This is a very small restaurant. For being so small, you would think they would be a little more attentive. I can't say I was completely dissatisfied by the service, but they were a bit slow. When they did come to our table, they were very friendly and helpful. We ordered around 7 rolls of sushi, a bunch of nagiri, some mussel shooters, and some saki. I thought they were all good and with the deal I had, it made them better. I wanted to try the Hellfire challenge, but after reading multiple reviews of people who did, I changed my mind. I would recommend this place, but warn you to drink your water slowly!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Kobe Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Japanese Cuisine & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.