We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn the Corner- It's Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Bistro

The Olive Bistro
57 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 1,244 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Turn the Corner- It's Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

So close to the Convention Center, don't be lured by the chain "Olive" place. Turn the corner and walk half a block on West 200 South to Olive Bistro, a charming, locally owned restaurant. Delicious grilled Paninis served with a salad and blue corn chips for less than $10. Fresh and healthy choices with a glass of wine, eat inside or out. Friendly, attentive staff. Will definitely go back to try the salads and crepes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat Before Evening Event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have season tickets to the Utah Opera at the Capitol Theatre and always have a
light meal before the opera at the Olive Bistro which is right across the street. It's a friendly, cosy place with a varied menu ranging from paninis and other entrees to a cheese plate. Nice selection of wines by the glass and reasonable prices. I imagine it would be a good place for lunch downtown also. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I liked the Olive Bistro because it was close to my hotel (Marriott City Center) good value for money and great Italian food. I didn't like how busy it was so anyone that wants romantic, cozy conversations should not visit at peak times!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My new favorite downtown lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I'm not sure how long the Olive Bistro has been in business. I found it because I was looking online for a place to eat somewhere in the Olive Bistro's neighborhood. The thing that caught my eye was that they mentioned organic and local foods in their online blurb. The menu itself was very appealing, so I talked a couple of collegues into eating there with me.

The food was outstanding! Wait times were a little bit long due to the server also being the cashier and the chef, but we were okay with that. The atmosphere was great (nice decor and a great Pandora music choice that was a good fit the overall mood of the restaurant), and the variety on the menu was quite a surprise. We ordered pannini sandwiches as well as an appetizer of olives and cheese, which came with toasted pita and several varieties of cheese. I had an avocado and sharp cheddar sandwhich. It was served with a basic (but yummy) green salad. The sandwich was amazingly good! So good that I can't wait to go back to try other sandwiches on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Bistro also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to The Olive Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.