We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you like the heat...perhaps construction with a view?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ogden, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do you like the heat...perhaps construction with a view?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was the most disappointing "hotel" I've been to. The hotel is undergoing renovation which was not stated anywhere. We took one set of elevators to our room which was on the 6th floor only to find out we walked right into a construction area. One of the crew was nice enough to take us to our room. In order to get there we had to go up a floor then to another set of elevators and then go back to the 6th floor. The crew member even made the comment that the hotel staff should put up more signs. Since this is a tower/resort type of configuration you have to figure out (and remember) what elevator you took to avoid construction. Also when we walked into our room it was like a sauna. The temp was at 65 but it had to have been at least 73. I think that the heat and A/C might be off during construction because it was nice where the construction was going on. This was a traditional anniversary stay (not at this particular hotel) and not what we had imagined. I had thought this would be a nice place to stay since a friend of ours who is a flight attendant said they used this hotel on occasion. So to keep cool here open your windows. I probably not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with windows that open. Stay on floors not under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown. First, congratulations on your anniversary! We wish you many years of happiness and hope you had a wonderful time in the city. As for the construction at the hotel, a thousand apologies for the failure to post sufficient signage regarding our upgrade. We’ve limited the remodel to one floor at a time in our Tower (about 16 rooms in our 400 room hotel) and construction time to business hours (no work past 6 p.m.). We apologize that you were exposed to a remodel area and will take the suggestion to place more signage in the area. There’s also no excuse for an uncomfortable room temperature, and we regret this malfunction interfered with your celebration. We do hope that you have some fond memories of your anniversary. If you would like to discuss your hotel stay further, please feel free to contact us. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    102
    60
    58
See reviews for
68
113
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The overall service is fair at best. The room carpet is ripped, ragged, and in desperate need of replacement. One elevator was not operating. The hotel in general needs attention for customer service, building renovation, and room appearance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Greetings and thanks! We appreciate learning about your impressions of the hotel on your recent stay. We hope you had a wonderful time in Salt Lake City and have the good fortune to return soon. We agree that the hotel needs some attention and are happy to report that our remodel is well underway. The lobby is nearly complete, and half the rooms in our Tower have a whole new look. We also have upgraded elevators to look forward to. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience this upgrade has caused. The out-of-order elevator you mentioned is currently being renovated, which leaves four in operation at any given time. We hope to share these updates with you soon—perhaps on your next visit. Again, thank you for your comments, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was the most disappointing hotel stay I have experienced. The staff were rude and unwilling to provide access to a manager when I expressed my concern. I was told that the managers were all in a meeting. The staff lied about breakfast being included in the room rate and then would not correct the mistake five minutes later when we tried to have breakfast. I cancelled my reservation at another red lion the following night and will make it a point not book with red lion in the future. I guess I expected similar customer service as being a Hilton honors member. Apparently this was unrealistic and the managers cannot be bothered to interact with customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello, and thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. I want to apologize for the difficulties you mentioned in reaching a manager. We greatly enjoy interacting with our guests and deeply regret missing the privilege of meeting you personally during your visit. I assure you that our meetings are never more important than our guests, and we are deeply troubled that you were left with that impression. Please also accept our apology for the confusion regarding breakfast. We will definitely work harder to make sure our message is clear at check in. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you would like to discuss your stay further. We would greatly enjoy hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It's a quite big hotel, but it's being poorly managed.
The client satisfaction is not a staff priority.
The hotel was going under a restoration but it was starting by 9 am..
The water system was oversoftening the water in the tap, making it impossible to rinse the soap out of body and hands. Front desk staff didn't care much about this complaint..
Clealiness seems not be an issue for the administration.
I was iniatially placed in a room with a smoking smell, as well as an incredible noisy ar conditioning system. I had to ask to be moved to another room..
Although the beatiful mountains sight it was impossible to take pictures from the room because the windows were so dirty that would make it useless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown. Please accept our apology for the conditions you described in your review. Please know that we want all of our guests to be completely satisfied with their stay, but, based on your comments, we can certainly see and understand your disappointment. Your desire for an inviting experience is completely reasonable, and we only wish that we had done more to make your stay wonderful (and still more to provide an unobstructed view of our beautiful mountains). Our hope is that you had a wonderful time in Salt Lake City. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to discuss these matters further. Have a wonderful day, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I will say the bed was comfortable, had free Wi-Fi in room, and a refrigerator in room. No free breakfast but an on-site restaurant. We were told our room was recently renovated but if true, there was a lot to be desired. Fresh cookies would have been nice in the morning or evening. If you want a drink in the lounge, you will have to purchase something to eat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had nothing but problems...the lobby has been redone but the rooms are still dated. I had a mouse in my first room and construction noise in the second room! The room was still expensive compared to other hotels I've stayed and had better experiences.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding guest room and that you had to switch rooms. I would like to apologize for the construction noise and we certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Red Lion SLC downtown served my purpose with good location, a fair rate and free parking. The property was being renovated, and the public areas in the part I stayed in were a bit old looking, but hopefully, will be soon updated. Can't complain and would very likely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Address: 161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in this world-renowned Olympic city, the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is a first-class hotel offering quality, style and easy access to business, urban and mountain attractions - all at a very comfortable price.Guests enjoy exceptional views of downtown and mountains from each of our 393 deluxe guest rooms and suites. "Just-like-home" room amenities include complimentary wi-fi, large workstations, in-room movies and room service. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are available.Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool open May through September and oversized whirlpool or Red Lion Energy Zone fitness center. Our Café Olympus serves family favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult.The Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is also perfectly suited for your next banquet or meeting with flexible conference space to accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.