We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 2 nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
“Stayed 2 nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Quick check in, with nice people in the reception!
My room vas clean and okay, but difficult to opend the door to my balcony. The windows was not clean, but the view vas nice.
I didn't use other facilities at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room was quiet, but some noise from the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    149
    100
    56
    57
See reviews for
67
111
40
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed one night, check in was quick and seamless. Hallways are old and tired, rooms seem to have been updated in the last few years. Room was comfortable and clean. Red Lion Diner had a fantastic omelette! Hotel was easy to fine, in a good location, and free parking is almost a luxury these days. Priced right, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night while traveling and while the hotel part was decent the diner within the hotel really ruined our experience.
The staff at the front were friendly and got us checked in no problems. Even though we booked through Priceline for a discounted price we still got a clean room with two queen beds. Everything in the room was clean but definitely older and dated.

For dinner we went to "Red's Diner" located in the hotel. To sum it all up in one sentence: "Horrible, inedible food with slow, inattentive service". We got the nachos to start and I immediately realized everything was store bought and thrown together. I could have made much better nachos at home. But whatever, it's a diner not a Mexican restaurant so I let it go, at least they were edible. For our entrees I got "garlic and herb crusted chicken" with mashed potatoes and a vegetable. My sister got a burger and fries. The chicken was dry and tasteless. The mashed potatoes were crusted and you could tell they'd been sitting in a hot pan for hours. The broccoli was microwaved and soggy. My sister only ate her fries because her burger "tasted like nothing". On top of that our server spent his time up at the register talking - I could tell he was avoiding our table because I had not touched my food. I've been a server for 6 years and if I see one of my tables has a problem I try to fix it immediately. His method was to ignore us and hope the problem went away. When he finally came to the table he was trying to get away as quickly as possible. I didn't complain much because that's not my style, I just told him the food was bad and asked him to take it off which he did with no problems. I have a feeling he gets unhappy customers often because the food here is so bad. I asked the front desk and the diner kitchen does the room service also so I'd advise against ordering that if you stay.
I know this is suppose to be about the hotel so other things to note: Parts of the hotel were under construction and very dirty and the wifi was extremely slow. I'd stay here again but go elsewhere to eat.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at this Red Lion after booking it on Hotwire. For $100 I can't be too terribly disappointed. The Pro's: Location is a nice breezy walk to downtown, Free Parking, Very helpful Staff, clean and Comfortable beds. Cons: Elevator sounds like it needed some serious maintanance. View, I was on the 12th Floor and had a view of not much. Windows, filthy, hadn't been washed in a looong time. I'd say anything over $85 you could do better. There's was nothing horrible about this hotel but nothing spectacular either. Just another older, highrise hotel.

Room Tip: One tower seems more renovated than the other. Ask for newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We only spent a night in this hotel and didn't really avail ourselves of the services. That said however, we found the room clean and comfortable and had a good nights sleep. We didn't experience any problems during our stay and found the staff we spoke to helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stay in and around Salt Lake 6 times a year and wanted to try someplace different than the Hilton family of hotels that continue to raise rates. I found the Red Lion to fall above the Hampton but not as nice as the Garden Inn. I was on the 9th floor and the room was very peacful and had 2 very good nights sleep. Food options are close by and it is a nice walk to downtown shops and mall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love this hotel. I always enjoy my stay. Great location, comfortable beds, clean rooms, very accommodating staff for the most part. The only issue I had was that the young gentleman that checked me in did not recognize my membership and refused to allow me to pay cash at check in, which I have been able to do at every other Red Lion I've stayed at. Luckily a friend in my party had a credit card we could put down. What would you have done if I didn't have a credit card to put down? Cash is the most reliable form of payment...... I would like to mention though that Steve, Margie and Latiya (sp?) were very accommodating when we made our reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Address: 161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in this world-renowned Olympic city, the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is a first-class hotel offering quality, style and easy access to business, urban and mountain attractions - all at a very comfortable price.Guests enjoy exceptional views of downtown and mountains from each of our 393 deluxe guest rooms and suites. "Just-like-home" room amenities include complimentary wi-fi, large workstations, in-room movies and room service. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are available.Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool open May through September and oversized whirlpool or Red Lion Energy Zone fitness center. Our Café Olympus serves family favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult.The Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is also perfectly suited for your next banquet or meeting with flexible conference space to accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.