We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's a good deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel amenities are ok and the service is ok too.
There is a free airport shuttle which is a big plus.
Breakfast is well served for a reasonable price.
Wi-fi works well but sometimes the signal is weak depending on where you are in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. We’re happy to learn that you had an enjoyable visit and a good breakfast. We’ll do a little polishing on our service so that your next experience will jump from OK to FANTASTIC! And we’ll also take a closer look at our amenities and Wi-Fi to see where we can make improvements. For now, we just wanted to say thanks for your patronage and feedback. Have a wonderful day, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    102
    60
    58
See reviews for
68
113
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked a stay for 3 nights (Thurs-Sat night) so we could attend the first Comic Con in town. First, we were bummed that the shuttles were not really used unless going to the airport. Understandable! So we walked.

The room we got was much smaller than expected- hardly enough room for our luggage and the pac-n-play for the baby to sleep in!

We were on the 4th floor, but we were constantly disturbed by strange, rumbling sounds (as if we were above/below a subway or something). Also I think the walls might just be very thin, because we could hear another family yelling through the hallway. If that wasn't bad enough, housekeeping paid us a visit at 8:17am on Saturday morning.

Though the room was supposed to be non-smoking, the moment we got off the elevator, you could smell that nasty, old tobacco smell. It permeated everything. Pretty gross.
Lastly, the cleaning staff does NOT do a good job at all! In fact, they actually left hair in our shower that was not there before they cleaned (my husband and I both have short hair and there was a long, dark hair under our soap bar AFTER they had come through). The carpet had stains and the chair in the room was ripped (I don't really care about that, but I was worried that they might try to blame it on us and charge us for it, but that did not happen).

OH and the "gym" was in such poor condition. They even had a treadmill situated under a huge ceiling leak; debris was falling on it and water was leaking through all over the power cords... hotel staff wedged a towel underneath it to soak up the water. Super safe. :P

Overall our stay in the hotel was not pleasant at all. I would highly suggest going somewhere else. We were able to get a special friends & family rate, and it still wasn't worth the price we paid. Take your hard-earned money elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay, and please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings described in your review. There is no defense for interrupting a guest’s rest and relaxation, and your comments will serve as a reminder that our guest’s comfort is paramount. Based on your remarks, we completely understand your hesitation to return. Still, we would like to invite you back so that we may have another chance to provide the comfortable stay you expected. Best wishes to you and your family, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel seemed nice and the location was good. The staff were helpful. However, rooms ending in "51" have the elevator right next to them and you get the sound of cables clanging and banging, and the elevator going up and down day and night. The balcony doors don't open and there are no windows, and it felt a little stuffy even with A/C. People booking through third parties like Expedia, Priceline, etc. don't get the free breakfast. We had one issue with housecleaning, but Erin at the front desk made good on the issues.

Room Tip: Don't use rooms next to the elevator. East facing rooms might have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Shabby, tired and grubby. By 10pm the noise in our second floor room was so bad we thought we were above an underground train line. So we moved, at 10.30pm to a 9th floor room. The stink of stale tobacco smoke hit us as we opened the door, and this was a non smoking room. By this time after a long day of travelling we were too tired to change again so we went to bed...and I laid my head on a pillow stinking of someone else's greasy hair. We could put up with the concrete wall four feet from our window on the 2nd floor but noise, stinking rooms, soiled used smelly pillows, no..never. Go somewhere else. Sleep in your car. Just don't go there.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay. Please accept our apology for the disturbance and the subsequent inconvenience of changing rooms. All of our guests are entitled to a good night’s rest, and we are greatly disappointed to learn your experience was less than superior. We are also alarmed to hear about the tobacco smell emanating from the room. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel and are committed to removing any lingering cigarette smoke in cases where a guest violates this policy. While we can understand your reluctance in returning to the hotel based on your remarks, we certainly would appreciate another opportunity to welcome you. We hope to hear from you again and wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Came in late and found a very unfriendly staff member who put me up on the ground floor, first room, overlooking garbage bins and a gas station, while the balance of the hotel remain almost vacant. Felt unsafe as a female with slider doors to this dark alley way. Felt I should have been asked a preference in this case. Room was fairly dirty with NO WIFI -- how can that be in this day and age.

Green Features: Did not notice any but if Red Lion offers the option of not having your sheets and towels done every day, I feel that is a consideration contribution to the environmentally friendly practice belief.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Red Lion Salt Lake Downtown. First of all, a thousand apologies for assigning you a room that did not fit your needs. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and safe, and we do our best to anticipate what is most preferable for our guests—in this case, it sounds like we missed a golden opportunity. We certainly will learn from your comments and raise our awareness. More disheartening is to learn that you did not receive a warm reception from our staff. Any unfriendliness on our part is inexcusable and indefensible! Please know that we will be sharing your comments with the staff regarding the impression we made, Also, we want to apologize for the trouble you described with our complimentary Wi-Fi. We know how important internet access is to our guests and regret any inconvenience this caused. It looks like we have some room for improvement, and the matters you presented will help guide us in those improvements. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware, and we hope that your next visit will be closer to a 5 star review. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good hotel with lower cost rooms and one of the best coffee shops in SLC across the street. The hotel has friendly, service oriented staff and most of the rooms are updated, or in the process.

Easily accessed from I-15 and is a good spot on the south end of town to access downtown and other areas of Salt Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here 8/24/2013 Got in late, about 1:30, drove around the parking lot to find a parking space and found a suspicious looking car idling in the back of the lot. Went to our room and upon looking out the window we saw a man who was cruising the lot looking into cars, when he saw we were looking at him he casually walked in the other direction until he thought we weren't looking anymore then came back around out of our sight then a few minutes later suspicious car left the lot. Okay back to the room, by 2:15 we were ready to go to sleep and as I was checking my ipad for our itinerary the next day I opened the drawer in the night stand next to the bed and what was in it? Someone else's condoms, female contraception device and personal lubricant!!!! Disgusting! To late and to tired to change rooms we tried to sleep, thoughts of car prowlers and who knows what else was in that room prevented much of that though. Daylight does show how old and poorly cleaned the room really was though, or should I say how DIRTY it was! They did refund 40 dollars when we checked out and told them everything :-( I would sleep outside before I would ever stay here again. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Assistant General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your invaluable feedback on your recent stay. In light of your comments, please accept our deepest apology for the unsatisfactory condition of the room at check in. We would never want our guests to find the things you described, and we will redouble our efforts to make sure this does not occur in the future. I was relieved to see that you were offered some compensation but pained to learn that you did not receive the rest you were counting on. Please know that our security team patrols the parking lot at night, and we take any suspicious activity seriously. We regret that this information was not communicated to you during your stay. It gives us no peace of mind in failing to provide a comfortable visit; to ensure this experience does not happen again, we will share your comments with all departments and remind all staff of our responsibility to provide an enjoyable stay for each and every guest. We wish you a wonderful day and do hope that your visit to Salt Lake City on the whole was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Address: 161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in this world-renowned Olympic city, the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is a first-class hotel offering quality, style and easy access to business, urban and mountain attractions - all at a very comfortable price.Guests enjoy exceptional views of downtown and mountains from each of our 393 deluxe guest rooms and suites. "Just-like-home" room amenities include complimentary wi-fi, large workstations, in-room movies and room service. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are available.Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool open May through September and oversized whirlpool or Red Lion Energy Zone fitness center. Our Café Olympus serves family favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult.The Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is also perfectly suited for your next banquet or meeting with flexible conference space to accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.