We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to a Convention and it was one of the last hotels available so we were not sure what to expect. Started off awesome when they had a shuttle that came to get us from the airport. Not many hotels downtown do and that saves at least $20 each way. The staff was really friendly and the rooms were surprisingly nice. They have a breakfast buffet downstairs, which you have to pay for but it was worth it. It was about a mile from the Convention center, which was a little far when walking in the rain but it was a nice walk over. The diner in the hotel was okay, food was good, the help was not the best, friendly but non attentive. Bottom line: I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    150
    102
    60
    58
See reviews for
68
113
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was traveling solo for a short ski trip, but also wanted to enjoy restaurants and other activities in SLC. Red Lion was perfectly located for all of this, and very easy freeway access to get to the ski resorts. Free parking was another nice perk. They also have airport shuttles, so I was able to return my car on the last night and take a shuttle to the airport for my morning flight, thereby saving me a full day of rental. The staff is very nice/helpful. The room was average to above average, but the bed was excellent. The wifi was a little spotty, but at least it was free!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were travelling with our dog were passing through SLC on a road trip. We needed an affordable convenient hotel to stay with our pet. Red Lion was perfect. It's close to I-80, has clean rooms and comfortable beds. The room has a microwave and mini refrigerator. We stayed at Red Lion twice. Once on our way over to once on our way back. My only gripe is that the room was too warm. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land TX USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I took the family snow skiing in Salt Lake for the first time and met my brother and his family here. I got a good deal on the hotel and was shocked at how nice it was for the price. A real good downtown location too. Free airport shuttle the first night about midnight. I took the shuttle to the airport the next morning to get a rental car. 10 minutes to the airport, 25 minutes to Alta. Seemed like everything was close by. Breakfast was a buffet where the kids eat free. Also a good deal. Flat screens and granite counters in the bathroom. Much nicer than I expected for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Pros:
-The bed was amazing, super comfy, nice down/duvet, great pillows.
-roughly $60 with tax
-walking distance to a few places
-Brewvies and an amazing Thai restaurant on the same block

Cons:
-Our car was broken into in the parking lot! The staff apologized but didn't really care too much. Luckily, there was nothing in there to be taken (except our coins in the console), but they ripped everything out of our console and glove compartment. It pays not to leave ANYTHING in your car.

-Hotel front desk was nice, but not super helpful. They didn't explain which set of elevators would be best to get to our room. In fact, our room was literally right in front of a set of elevators, but since we didn't know this we lugged our heavy luggage around the halls for 5 minutes figuring out how to get to our room. (The hotel has a weird shaped smaller building and a tower with a small hallway that connects them).

-Didn't realize the blow dryer was in the closet under the extra blanket. I looked at the card in the room that listed bathroom amenities. It didn't list a hair dryer. So, in my rush to get to the place I was going to I decided to forgo calling the front desk and just get to where I was going. I wish the front desk would of mentioned this.

-The bathroom was absolutely tiny
-Vent in our room rumbled loudly all night and day

-The maids IGNORE the 'do not disturb' sign. Both days they walked in with the sign on the door, luckily I had locked it. The second day my significant other had just walked out of the bathroom in a towel and the maid nearly saw him nude. I don't understand why they try to come in with the sign on the door and when it is also 9am, no where near check-out time even.

-Walls are thin. Both days we heard vacuums going at 8am loud enough to wake us up. I'm not sure how close our non-smoking room was to a smoking room but every night we'd smell a pretty heavy cigarette scent in our room. Wasn't too annoying, it could of just been someone ignoring the non-smoking room rules.

-Coffee mugs were filthy. They had a greasy film with finger prints on them. Luckily, they also give you two disposable cups w/ lids, so we used those instead.

All in all, I don't think I would stay here again. It wasn't terrible, but with all the little annoyances plus our car being broken into I would much rather play the extra $10-$30 a night to get a better hotel plus some kind of covered/underground parking.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 6th floor or higher, with the blinds even a little open I swear people cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I enjoyed my visit to Salt Lake City for a business training at the Salt Palace Convention Center. I choose this location due to the price and it was within a nice walking distance from the Convention Center. The room was great! They provide a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, and iron. I recommend asking for a room with a view of the Wasatch Mountains. The staff was very friendly and they also have a free shuttle to the airport and will bring you to other downtown locations.

You are also not far from the light rail, TRAX, and other bus transportation.

The only reason I am not giving an excellent rating is the food in the restaurant is very mediocre. It will do if you want to eat local, but there are many great restaurants in the downtown SLC area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

i got this hotel for a one night stay through priceline and after i checked the reviews i was a little nervous, but was then pleasantly surprised. i asked for a room on a higher floor and it was clean and comfortable. no complaints here. it seems like this place participates in priceline often, i got it for a $50 bid, so I'd recommend doing that verses paying full price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown

Address: 161 West 600 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in this world-renowned Olympic city, the Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is a first-class hotel offering quality, style and easy access to business, urban and mountain attractions - all at a very comfortable price.Guests enjoy exceptional views of downtown and mountains from each of our 393 deluxe guest rooms and suites. "Just-like-home" room amenities include complimentary wi-fi, large workstations, in-room movies and room service. Complimentary parking and airport transportation are available.Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool open May through September and oversized whirlpool or Red Lion Energy Zone fitness center. Our Café Olympus serves family favorites for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult.The Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown is also perfectly suited for your next banquet or meeting with flexible conference space to accommodate up to 1,000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.