We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Butte Garden

Red Butte Garden
300 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108
801-581-4747
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Butte Garden, a part of the University of Utah, is a non-profit organization located in Salt Lake City, Utah. With over 100 acres including display and natural gardens, walking paths and natural areas with hiking trails, Red Butte Garden is the largest botanical garden in the Intermountain West that tests, displays, and interprets regional horticulture. The Garden offers something for everyone from children who want to explore to adults looking for landscape and planting ideas. You might enjoy taking a class, packing a picnic, attending a concert or hiking. Red Butte Garden is open year-round with plant interest and events during every season.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was so hot, we wilted, but each of the garden rooms has fountains and arbors full of flowers to sit under. I could have stayed for hours and read.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    69
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“What a lovely little garden outside of Salt Lake City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Only about a 15 minute drive from Salt Lake City, Red Butte Garden is a wonderful place to stroll, spend a pleasant afternoon with a book or just learn about local flora. Although the garden is somewhat small as botanical gardens go, this was well planted, maintained and beautiful at this time of year. My only disappointment was the power lines adjacent to the rose garden.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc,ut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pick your season and keep your eyes open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You have to expect that a Botanical Garden is going to have nice plants, and the Red Butte Gardens fulfill that and more. They have a great organization that has done wonderful landscaping and have developed a great general landscape while having small and intimate spaces that seem independent of the large scapes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great western botanical garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I enjoy botanical gardens where ever I travel, and this is a gem for the Intermountain West. Sited above the University of Utah, it offers walking paths and numerous specialty gardens, some with plants known only to this area. Even if you have only a short time to visit, the experience is sure to please. For those living close by, the year-long activities list will make joining the gardens well worthwhile.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Botanical you will ever Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Red Butte Gardens are beautiful! By far, they have the best selection of plants and the name and one to which the will grow that I have ever seen. It is October so not all of the flowers were in full bloom!

So, about the gardens...there are specific spaces dedicated to different types of gardens. My favorite is the herb garden. You just walk in and it smells like Italian food. In fact, this garden in particular inspired me a couple of years ago to plant basil, oregano, rosemary, marjoram and tarragon in boxes and pots on my back patio for culinary purposes. There is also a medicinal garden (nothing of the California-style medicinal plant variety) and a fragrance garden, which attracts lots of bees and butterflies. Each of these gardens has shaded benches and swings so you can sit and enjoy the scenery for a while.

Another garden of note is the Children's garden. There is a splash pad, a playhouse frame with vines growing up the walls and roof (I want one for my yard!) a sand box, a giant snake whose body the kids can run through, a fireman's pole, and lots and lots of color everywhere you look. It is a great place to spend the afternoon with your kids.

A little further, on, there is a fishpond, and the kids enjoy feeding the fish and ducks. There is also an amphitheater, a rose garden and wedding lawn. Really, a great botanical garden does a great job of displaying plants and the best way to grow them.

I believe standard admission is $8, with a discount for seniors and small children.

A must if visiting SLC if you are a fan of botanical gardens! You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Butte Garden also viewed

 

Been to Red Butte Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Butte Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.