We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid stay; great location for conventions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Inn to your Saves list
Metropolitan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Solid stay; great location for conventions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've stayed at the Metropolitan three times during the Outdoor Retailer shows...it's an easy walk from the convention center...it's clean and the staff is helpful. It's a bit of a no-brainer when available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    59
    31
    14
    12
See reviews for
21
42
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although some of the hotel looks a little dated, the room was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful, which is far more important. The hotel is close to both the freeway and the city centre, yet it manages to be very quiet at night. Fairly basic breakfast but better than nothing - the cakes were good (for later!) There was also a good view of the mountains from the front.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely staff, 24 hours. Terrific location. Excellent breakfast. Easy parking. We really liked this independent hotel. The price is very good. We liked the art deco furnishings. The room was smaller than some, but very efficient. Once we figured out the screwy Salt Lake City street system, we found ourselves in a very central location. We weren't far from Temple Square, Pioneer Park area, and a short ride to "This is the Place" Heritage Park, a great attraction. The Great Salt Lake Park is nearby...and, while it wasn't inviting to take a dip in the salty lake, we did learn much about the amazing eco-system of this historic body of water.

Room Tip: Lower floors easier access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This place is great value for money!! Very friendly staff, rooms are spacious. They have a laundry facility which was handy while traveling. Free parking and free breakfast. Would definitely recommend. It's much cheaper than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Clean and tidy rooms. Just a short walk to the free city trains. Pool was nice but spa wasn't working. Outside area could be cleaned up a little. They have a guest washing machine and dryer which was handy for us as we had been on the road for 4 days. I was not happy with the breakfast. No yoghurt, cereal or real milk for coffee. Donuts are not a healthy breakfast option. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly employee. The man on duty the next morning was not friendly at all. Good price for a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This isn't the fanciest hotel. But for the money it was a great stay. The bed was comfortable and the location was perfect. The room was clean and the shower was hot. Decent breakfast. Again it is the bang for the buck you are getting. And the location was perfect for my back and forth to the Salt Lake City convention center. Kudos to the staff and the hotel for making it a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#22 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#14 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.1 mi away
North Temple Inn
North Temple Inn
#47 of 74 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#42 of 74 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metropolitan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.