We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Melbourne
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a basic motel. The furnishings are not new but everything is in good working order and the place is clean. A few special touches place it apart from the 'cookie cutter' motel - art deco styled furniture, the complimentary toiletries are good quality and the mattress was amazing. Air conditioning in the room (which was essential). Free reliable wifi in the rooms, plus access to a desktop computer in reception.
Short walk (along a main-ish road) to the centre of town. Easy drive to/from airport. Staff were very helpful.
Continental breakfast was good for this style of motel - we were impressed by the range of bagels on offer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    26
    11
    11
See reviews for
16
32
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

the Metropolitan inn is well placed almost in the heart of Salt Lake city, it about 15min slow walk to the main temple and restaurants.
we enjoyed the walk to the shops which is easy and safe, we stopped at a Italian restaurant for pizza which was great.

the rooms at the inn where of a good size and clean, the wifi was good and fast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights mid of September and had a look at 2 rooms.
Negative: furnishing is old-fashioned and partially broken; strong smell in the room; loud A/C (better to turn off at night); small double-rooms
Plus: close to city center, free WiFi, free parking

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband works in S. Jordan several times a year and decided to have me come up with him on this trip. We picked the Metropolitan because it was half the price of the Hilton Doubletree right next door ($225 for 3 nights) and it's close proximity to downtown (Temple Square) since I would be hoofing it during the day while he worked. So, here are the pros: 1) King size bed on temperpedic mattress; 2) Very friendly and helpful staff; 3) Very nice continental breakfast and 4) Lots of food delivery options and restaurants/bars within walking distance. Cons: 1) No mini fridge in the room, so we had to fill up a trash can with ice to keep our waters and other libations cold; 2) Pillows were abundant, but not the most comfortable, and 3) Difficult time finding a median comfortable room temperature (either too cold or too hot). We would stay at the Metropolitan again because the pros definitely outweighed the cons.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was a little disappointing, but for the low price it was acceptable overall. The lever which opened and closed the sink drain in the bathroom was broken and the drain had to be manipulated manually to keep it open. The housekeeper did not replace the bath mat or remove the shower mat from the bathtub on my second day, and she also did not replace the washcloths. Other than these things, the place was comfortable, and the A/C worked really well on these 100 degree days. The bed and pillows were also perfectly comfortable. The clerk who was working the front desk appreciated the information about the faults when I brought them up with him. I did also miss a couple of amenities, such as a refrigerator and a microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Front desk let a call through to our room at 1:30 a.m. The caller said HE was the front desk, asked me if I was in room x. when i said yes,he said I had to come down immediately to re-register. I declined to walk through the dark outdoor hallways and parking lot, called the front desk, and the woman that answered said there was no guy working there. What hotel that cares about your safety passes potentially dangerous calls to guests? Who wants to try to sleep with furniture barricaded against the door?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped here for one night while driving from Las Vegas to Yellowstone. Looking for an inexpensive hotel just to sleep and shower. Well, after reading reviews here we decided to stay here. Room was ok, kind of on the smaller side. Bathroom was small and shower was even smaller! It was so small, none of us even used it! I have to say the beds were very comfortable, even for someone with a bad back. Good motel if you just want a good night's sleep. We walked 1 to 2 miles to Temple Square. Other than that, there is nothing to do in this town. Super quiet and seemed a little deserted.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with a bigger shower, maybe ours was a fluke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metropolitan Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.