We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metropolitan Inn, Salt Lake City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Metropolitan Inn to your Saves list
Metropolitan Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Metropolitan Inn, Salt Lake City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was a little disappointing, but for the low price it was acceptable overall. The lever which opened and closed the sink drain in the bathroom was broken and the drain had to be manipulated manually to keep it open. The housekeeper did not replace the bath mat or remove the shower mat from the bathtub on my second day, and she also did not replace the washcloths. Other than these things, the place was comfortable, and the A/C worked really well on these 100 degree days. The bed and pillows were also perfectly comfortable. The clerk who was working the front desk appreciated the information about the faults when I brought them up with him. I did also miss a couple of amenities, such as a refrigerator and a microwave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
41
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elko, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Front desk let a call through to our room at 1:30 a.m. The caller said HE was the front desk, asked me if I was in room x. when i said yes,he said I had to come down immediately to re-register. I declined to walk through the dark outdoor hallways and parking lot, called the front desk, and the woman that answered said there was no guy working there. What hotel that cares about your safety passes potentially dangerous calls to guests? Who wants to try to sleep with furniture barricaded against the door?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stopped here for one night while driving from Las Vegas to Yellowstone. Looking for an inexpensive hotel just to sleep and shower. Well, after reading reviews here we decided to stay here. Room was ok, kind of on the smaller side. Bathroom was small and shower was even smaller! It was so small, none of us even used it! I have to say the beds were very comfortable, even for someone with a bad back. Good motel if you just want a good night's sleep. We walked 1 to 2 miles to Temple Square. Other than that, there is nothing to do in this town. Super quiet and seemed a little deserted.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms with a bigger shower, maybe ours was a fluke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days...long enough to see that there were always unsavory characters lurking about. One night two guys were parked beside my car and I didn't feel like it was safe to go out there. I told the lady at the front desk, all she said was " I'll get Brian to check it out" when I asked later what she found out she had not had "Brian" go check yet. We were even warned about this place from a policeman.But we didn't want to go to the trouble of changing hotels.The only good thing about this place were the beds and the location. The weren't enough outlets, no refrigerator and although we were there three days no one ever cleaned the room or brought new clean towels. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

TemperPedic beds are a plus.
Their system was down when I checked in. The guy at the front desk asked me to sit and wait.
The elevator makes noises that made me think it was going to fall apart on me. The room had water stains on the ceiling. bathroom was small. The shower had cracked tiles and it did not look clean. Little to no counter space.
There is no mini fridge! The dresser is the tv stand and my drawers would not close right.
This place needs outlets! I had to charge my phone in the bathroom.
The room is dimly lit and the desk is just a small round table placed in an awkward place. The chairs had stains on them too.
I've stayed a a lot of places within this price range and this is definitely on the lower end.
Last but not least, the walls are thin!
I can hear the people next door and they were just having a simple conversation.
I do not suggest staying here. A motel 6 would have the same quality and it would be $20 cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced motel in a very good location in the heart of SLC. The rooms are relatively large, very clean, and very comfortable. The staff are nice. We needed a night in SLC before flying out and this was a very good choice.

Room Tip: They will match the price on Bookings.com which knocks about $15 off the price quoted at the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at the Salt Palace. The location is within walking distance of downtown SLC. Rooms were clean. Bathroom was quite small and the tile floor was freezing, but it was an inexpensive option for travelers. Beds are tempurpedic and very comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast was as expected. Fresh donuts, muffins, toast, bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal, apples, oranges, banana, OJ, coffee and hot chocolate. Perfect for a light breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolitan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Inn

Address: 524 South West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metropolitan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Salt Lake City
Metropolitan Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.