We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better deals elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1990 West North Temple Street, I-80 at N Temple St/ Redwood Rd Exits, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Better deals elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Don't do it. I wouldn't return here. There are other Motel 6s in SLC which are much nicer.

I'm a fan of Motel 6, but I would tell people to stay away from this motel. First, the location wasn't good. Although very close to the SLC airport, it is adjacent to I-215 (= noise). My first impression getting to the hotel was "yuck" shortly after which I was accosted for spare change. The walls were thin, adding to the noise issues which were compounded by an annoying neighbor.

I had a staff person which was good, but the first staff people I ran to were not helpful, and I'm pretty sure lied to me re availability of rooms. There are plenty of fast food joints in the area, but not many nicer restaurants. Compared to other areas of SLC, this area was not so nice.

I wouldn't stay here again. I would rather get up a little earlier (to get to the airport) or pay a little more.

  • Liked — Location (near airport)
  • Disliked — Location (bad area, noise from interstate)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
4
11
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

No hotels in SLC for $40 a night. This motel 6 was below that!
Clean room, good blankets, clean towels, quite room,working heater, good shower, good tv. Plenty of restaurants nearby
Want coffemaker? internet? iron?Look elsewhere.
Most travel websites, the WHERE? book of SLC donot list this.

  • Liked — Cordial staff
  • Disliked — No iron/ iron board
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were passing thru SLC on our way back to California and had planned to stay at the Days Inn just down the street but they didn't have any pet rooms available when we got there. This Motel 6 was pretty average. Room seemed pretty clean. Heater worked well. Had to ask for additional large towels (there were only 2 large ones for 2 people). Front desk was pleasant to deal with. Pretty average Motel 6 but better than another one in SLC we had stayed at 2 years ago. Lots of fast food nearby but not too many "real" restaurants, at least that we could find. Easy to get to from I-80.

  • Liked — Reasonable rates; easy to find
  • Disliked — no wireless internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

i agree that this motel 6 has smaller rooms and less friendly check-in staff than other motel 6s. i've stayed in many motel 6s in many states and like them alot for price and a basic, clean motel room. but this motel 6 is different. the front desk clerk was rude when i asked for a different room. the motel is next to the freeway and very noisy. rooms are very small and very poorly lit with 25 watt bulbs. walls were thinner than other motel 6s. the only reason to stay at this motel 6 is that it's so close to the airport if you have an early flight to catch. otherwise i'd stay at one of the other motel6s in salt lake city, which also have better prices

  • Liked — near airport
  • Disliked — noisy, small, dimly lit; poor customer service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The room was the size of a postage stamp. We were given a handicapp room so the bathroom was huge and the room was tiny. I think I have a bathroom at home that was bigger. The two full beds were tight to the wall on one side and the air conditioner on the other. There was room in between for a night stand that took up about two feet. At the end of the bed was a whopping three feet, maybe. We had no where to put our luggage. We ended up putting it in the bathroom and even in the shower when it wasn't in use. Some one should also tell the maids that they can wash the walls in the shower, not just the floor.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — tiny room with dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

Motel was showing its age! Close to the Temple. Ok for one night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

We were tired and didn't care too much where we slept, but the Motel 6
in Salt Lake could make a few minor changes to improve. First it had a
musty smell to me, although my friend didnt seem to notice it. It said
it was a smoke free room, but it smelled like it had been smoked in, in
the past to me. Second, the towels were very thin and not very
absorbent. There were only two large towels, two face towels and two wash
clothes. So, when the water from the showerdipped and pooled on the
floor in front of the mirror and toilet, we had to use a face towel to
stand on. Third, there were no shampoos or conditioners. I think there
was a small sliver of soap. Fourth, we got there late at night and my
friend couldnt find the credit card that she had reserved the room on.
Instead of just asking for another form of payment so that we could get
in the room and get to sleep, the front desk said they needed to have
the actual card. After frantically looking for the card and not being
able to find it, they did accept a different card.
So, in summary, it had the basics, a bed, tv, bathroom-but no extra
touches and still cost $50-60 with tax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport

Address: 1990 West North Temple Street, I-80 at N Temple St/ Redwood Rd Exits, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport Utah
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Salt Lake City Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.