We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, this place has seen better days........obviously......” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1990 West North Temple Street, I-80 at N Temple St/ Redwood Rd Exits, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well, this place has seen better days........obviously......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the final overnight stop my partner & I had on our cross-country road trip from Vermont back home to California last Summer, & it was well, ewwww....stained linens, dust and hair everywhere, run down feel to the location and building, and well. I've NEVER been fond of hotels right near interstates. The bathroom was clean I guess, and the pool was ok, but I would NEVER stay at this location again. We did receive a FULL refund (after arguing for it) from the front desk -- unpleasant! Housekeeping was nice though. Wi-Fi service was spotty to non-exsistant, and I never did get a refund for the $2.99 I shelled out for that though. We stayed at other Motel 6's on our trip, and this was by far the WORST!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    11
    12
    15
See reviews for
5
13
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our trip to the USA. It was cheap and very close to the airport which was perfect after travelling all day. We had just picked up our car and were extremely tired so this motel was perfect, quick check in, easy to find and no problems. The carpet was a little grubby and the noise from the nearby roads was quite loud but in fairness I was aware of the proximity to the road before booking and for the price I was more than satisfied. The staff were friendly, helpful and curtious, I have no complaints with this motel, we got what we paid for and left happy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After a long flight from London with a connection in New York. We were tired and needed somewhere close to the airport . We were driving straight to Yellowstone the next day and not staying in Salt Lake City so this was perfect for us as it was easy to find and right on the interstate. Very basic but that's what you would expect. Felt very safe, no problems checking in especially as it was after midnight when we arrived. Our room faced the road and it was quite noisey so with adjusting to a new time zone and road noise it wasn't the best nights sleep but it was fine for a stop over. Best of all Denny's is down the street before the exit to the interstate - a great place for a great breakfast before driving!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my father stayed the night before flying home and the staff was nice room was in a good location but it was dirty and I am a traveler on a budget so I dont expect much but I do want clean and this was not The bathroom was terrible

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is very confortable, and the location is very quiet. Next to the airport and about 10 mins from Downtown Salt Lake, and just two blocks away from a "food court" (Intersection of North Temple and Redwood)
The front desk staff is just excellent, very kind and efficient, specially Mr. Kyle and "a bald guy" wich unfortunatelly I dont remenber the name...=/
Excellent experience...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at this motel because I was traveling with my parents, they wanted a budget motel and mentioned this hotel. I know that it is cheap for a reason so I knew not to expect a lot and decided to give it a try. Next time I will be sure to spend the extra money. We got in fairly late and when we I got to my room it looked ok, but the bathroom was dirty. There was something (hopefully mud) on the floor that i had to put paper towels over and push out of the way. I know I could have called for a different room but I figured that all the rooms would be about the same and I take it as a lesson learned. The rest of the room wasn't awful, but obviously it was bare minimum. I was also surprised that there was no alarm clock in the room. Again, I know when I book a cheap room like this that I shouldn't expect much, but I do expect my rooms to be clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

For $40 I expect a clean hotel with the basic amenities such as a clean bathroom & towels, clean sheets & a relatively safe area. I got all of these things here. Was it run down, yes of course, but if I wanted updated & new then I would stay at the Hilton.

I have an allergy to smoke, so I asked to see a few different rooms & choose the best smelling. I chose the first one, which smelled clean & like new carpet. The walls were also freshly painted. Big bathroom, rundown. Small thin towels. All things I expected. GREAT location to Salt Lake City & the airport. I'd reccomend it for people with realistic expectations of a budget hotel. I had no problem with safety or noise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport

Address: 1990 West North Temple Street, I-80 at N Temple St/ Redwood Rd Exits, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport 1.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport Utah
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Salt Lake City Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Salt Lake City West Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.