We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1345 S. Foothill Dr., Salt Lake City, UT 84108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Star Valley,AZ, United States
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location, facility and staff, near U of U, Hogle Zoo and much more, not far from down town, The staff was extremely helpful in all of our needs. We had 16 rooms and they accomodated the location of the rooms to meet our needs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    56
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
115
58
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel for a family wedding. Very reasonably priced. Clean, comfortable rooms with a good breakfast included. Extremely comfortable beds. Wonderful staff. The experience was so good that I will book this chain for future travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is located about 1/2 mile off I-80 from the exit at the mouth of Parleys Canyon. Foothill Drive is a fairly busy street but the hotel is rectangular - with the short end and lobby near the road. The signage is mostly hidden, so it's easy to drive by without seeing it - if you get to 1300 South you've passed it. The back of the hotel is on a small street with a cemetery across the street (very quiet area). There is a Red Robin restaurant right next door and a convenience store/gas station and Wendy's next to that. Across the street is a large shopping mall called Foothill Village with several restaurants, and shops, a supermarket, a bank, a sporting goods store that rents ski equipment, and even a AAA store. This hotel is located about 4 miles from downtown, maybe 2 miles from the University of Utah and less than that from the university's research park, the zoo and the "This is The Place" monument and pioneer park. It's in a nice part of town - much better than their downtown location. There are bus stops very near including a bus in the winter that runs to at least one of our many wonderful ski resorts. I drive by this location often because we live about 1/2 mile away - which is why I haven't actually stayed here. This review is intended to give you information about the location only.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms away from Foothill Drive would be the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for a week while conducting business at the Univ. of Utah, which is just down the street. Overall, this hotel is a very good place to stay. They offer a decent breakfast, a good business center, and a very friendly and accommodating staff.

The room was spacious and clean, with a nice view of both the mountains and the valley, although the primary view is the parking garage. The third floor balcony/patio is the best place for great valley views, but the week I was here the weather was too hot to spend any significant amount of time outside! The highlight of the room was the charging station by the bed! It had two AC outlets and two USB ports. This is the first time I have seen this and I hope ALL Hilton properties will be adding them! I usually travel with a port replicator and outlet extension because most hotels are woefully unprepared for today's connected traveler. Not this location, though! Kudos to Hampton!

Breakfast was the usual fare: lots of simple, sugary carbs, juices, coffee, powdered eggs, hard boiled eggs, waffles, and fruit. The eggs were a different style each day: cheese omelet, western omelet, scrambled with cheese, and scrambled with ham and cheese. On the days that the eggs did not include ham, there was a different meat each day: sausage patties, ham slices, and sausage slices. Since I don't eat simple carbs or sugar, the variety was nice, in spite of the powdered eggs.

My dinners were mainly at the next-door Red Robin, where the staff were very friendly and I could get a quick, hot meal to go, and work in my room. It was in the evenings that I have my only complaint about this property. There were a LOT of families with small children on my floor, at least one of which took great delight in slamming the door every few minutes much of two evenings. I did not report it, since it mercifully stopped about 9:30, but it was a distraction and an annoyance. I realize the hotel cannot fix something it doesn't know about, but I do think they could make an effort to locate business travelers away from the families.

Overall, this was a very good place to stay. I come here on business several times a year and will stay here again, primarily because of the proximity to the University.

Room Tip: Choose an even-numbered room for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I would stay here again and again. The check in was fast and the staff was great. They allowed me to check in early and even shuttled me to my office that was down the street. It was great being able to grab breakfast every morning before I headed to work. The 3rd floor patio looking over the valley was so relaxing in the evening. The sunsets were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We reserved a large block of rooms for a family wedding. Everyone in the staff, from the front desk, to the van driver, to the breakfast staff were exceptionally polite, friendly and enormously helpful. Everyone who was a guest commented on the lovely hotel, reasonable rates and wonderful staff. We recommended it to everyone, and now you have a large amount of people both here in Salt Lake and visitors from other areas singing the praises of this hotel. It couldn't have been any nicer. Thank you for making our family occasion so easy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I will definitely stay here when I return to SLC in the future. I love the location and the staff members were great. I also like the small parking garage (no fee, no gate to get in and out) that allowed me to park the car out of the relentless Utah sun!

My room was a typical Hampton room - clean and serviceable with plenty of room. I did not indulge in breakfast during my stay because there are some great places to eat in close proximity. (I've got a review of Eggs In The City on here also.) There's a Red Robin within walking distance - if you want a good chain-store burger, and a shopping center with a grocery store right across the street.

Also, when the zipper on my suitcase broke (and I didn't really want to go buy another one just for the trip home), the front desk had a maintenance man bring me a roll of duct tape to get it closed for my flight home. It looked funny, but it worked! They even gave me a cardboard box to use in case I needed it (I didn't). Super helpful and friendly.

Their room rate for state employees was exceptional! I'll be back!

Room Tip: If you get a room on the east side of the building, you have a great view of the foothills behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill

Address: 1345 S. Foothill Dr., Salt Lake City, UT 84108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Salt Lake City with panoramic city and mountain views, the Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill puts you close to all that this amazing city has to offer. Proximity to attractions like ski resorts, Hogle Zoo and This Is the Place Historic Village. If shopping, dining and entertainment at Foothill Village, and near trendy neighborhoods such as Sugar House and 9th & 9th. Near Westminster College, University of Utah (site of the 2002 Olympics opening and closing ceremonies), Red Butte Garden and Arboretum and the Utah Museum of Natural History. Corporate guests will love the multi-function meeting room and modern business center within the hotel. For a touch of luxury, upgrade to a suite and enjoy extra space and stunning valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City University / Foothill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.