We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service - Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Wien
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Service - Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City is an extraordinary place to stay in Salt Lake CIty. The hotel has 24 floors and can be seen from many places of the city. The interior of the hotel is elegant and makes you comfortable from the first moment of your stay. The hotel staff is really perfect. The reception during the check-in was informative and very friendly. The receptionist explained the amenities of the hotel and answered all questions perfectly. The concierge was very helpful. I had to change my oil engine by my rental car. He helped me to find the nearest garage and the shortest service thereby not to loose much time during our holidays. The recommendations for dinner were excellent.
We also take the breakfast in the hotel - one time in the lobby and one time in the garden cafe. Both locations fulfilled our expectations. The breakfast buffet in the garden cafe was excellent with a wide variety of warm and cold dishes.
The amenities of the hotel are in excellent conditions. There is an indoor and a big outdoor pool. Towels are on the pool side and a service at the pool is available. The fitness center has a wide variety of different fitness machines. Everybody will find an appropriate fitness equipment.
we had booked a suite with a king size bed. The suite was divided into a living and a sleeping room. It was equipped with a separate bath room including a shower and a bath.
The room service especially the turn down service in the evening was perfect.
Overall the Grand America is really the best hotel in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldtravelerWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear WorldtravelerWien -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with me. We are proud you recognized and appreciated the many special touches we do to care for our guests but especially so for your comments about our service and breakfast buffet. Providing gracious service at an exceptional value are true fundamentals of hospitality and we could not be more pleased that we were successful in executing our service values for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

You have got to stay here at least once. The rooms are amazing. The staff was so helpful. This was our second time at the Grand America, and we can't wait to go back! You have to eat at the Garden Cafe, it is in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandMissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ok. I haven't stayed there but my boyfriend said that it was better than the Plaza. This is a really first class hotel. The staff is warm and helpful and the place is gorgeous! We got to the hotel at 10:00 a.m. even though check in time isn't until the afternoon. The receptionist said, "no problem" when we asked to check in so early although they didn't have a room with a king size bed. We were willing to take two queens. The room was beautifully appointed and huge. I can't think of anything we could have asked for. We spent some time at the pool which was great--not too crowded and the temperature was perfect. This morning we had a deluxe Continental breakfast in the lobby location where they serve tea later in the day. The price was good (perhaps $12 or $13) and it was enough for two meals for me. Definitely treat yourself. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine that there are bad rooms in this hotel--only great and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valleytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear valleytrekke -

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve guest experience. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were able to enjoy everything the property has to offer. We are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The service was amazing! I travel a lot and this is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen or stayed in. The marble appointments in the bathroom are quite a nice touch and if you are not careful, you may want to decorate a room in your house like the hotel room! :)

Room Tip: Mountain View side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Shan143 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked the hotel based on the tripadvisor review without that much of expectation
We enjoyed very much trip form yellow stone to fly to LA

Swimming pool was great and sunday brunch is must to try.

Glad we stayed..:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomandjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very luxurious hotel with exceptional service. Rooms are super clean and spacious with everything you need. Rooms have small balcony which is pretty nice to enjoy the view. Hotel is also well located near almost everything in the city. Maids come to your room every evening to prepare your bed, close the curtains and lights so you can jump right in your bed when you come back after dinner. Beds are ultra comfy!
I will definitely return to the Grand America Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crccrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear crccrew -

Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback and for recommending us so highly. We certainly recognize there are many options available for your consideration in the Salt Lake City area. We are honored you chose the Grand America on this occasion and for the opportunity to earn your trust. Have a happy and safe rest of your summer! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the future and until then, we will remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derwood, md
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My spouse and I stayed here last weekend and loved the hotel. The architecture looks like it is an old hotel that is updated, but a staff member told me it was built in 2001. Wood paneling abounds the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large with a sizable sitting area. It had two bathroom type areas with separate sinks. The bathtub was big with high capacity water fixtures. There was also a separate shower and a separate commode area. Overall, we wished that we had scheduled additional nights to stay here, our view from the 24th floor was fantastic. We would stay here again in a heart beat. It is about a 15 minute walk to LDS Temple square, if that is a concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishDerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.5 mi away
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
Marriott Salt Lake City City Cen...
#25 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing